DO STEEMIT FOLLOWERS ACTUALLY MEAN ANYTHING!?

in #steem6 years ago

Just wanna let off some steam! Haha! Seriously, what is up with these numbers?

If these are real people and they are my actual number of followers here in steemit, my question is why the heck are none of them even really interacting with me! I mean i'd be honored of those same number of people gave me an upvote but I'd be happy with a comment and an actual interaction!

I know the whole steemit comment game and I will gladly give an upvote to anyone with a decent comment! A real interaction! I just don't get where these numbers are coming from! Haha!

What are your thoughts on these guys? Are these even real people and do followers actually make a difference in getting your steemit profile up and running!

Also you know how some people tell you they have thousands of followers and if you send them some SBD they will resteem you? Kinda sounds like rubbish now. Or perhaps someone can prove me wrong?

What do you guys think? Lemme know! I upvote awesome comments! hahaha!

Sort:  

Some people are real but there are quite a few bots out there.

yeah, really sad when that happens. Im curious there are bots made just to follow people here? I wonder for what purpose.

it is very easy to tell who are bots and who are not. Usually their diction is poor and has nothing to do with the subject at hand.

To be honest people probably follow different users the first time they comment on one of their post then forget about them lol. I’m going to throw it out there anyway I’m new to the game but I’ll keep the comments and upvotes coming your way 👌😁

hahahaha true and honest comment! reminds me when I started! upvote and follow coming your way sir!

I think they do. If you treat them right, they will tell their friends. If you don't treat them right, the platform will die. The best form of marketing is word of mouth. If someone makes $10 on steem commenting on a few posts without investing a dime, chances are they will tell all their friends.

I really want to treat them right...but, how? they dont even interact! hahaha. I agree with you, word of mouth is the best way to promote the platform!

Just interact and equally distribute your up votes between yourself and the people who you feel as if are really making a difference on steem. But this is only my opinion. Thanks for the reply and the best of luck :)

I have wondering the same thing too.
To be clear I am not a bot and I hope someone is reading my posts...

A lot of newbies come in and follow a boatload of people and then disappear. A lot of bots too and some people who think they can do a follow-for-follow and then sell resteems or something lame. Interaction is key. Most of my decent followers are commenting and upvoting my posts. Maybe I've got 60 of them out of 1200...so that's about 5% :)

What @buggedout said. Newcomers have this idea that steemit is like facebook. Follow a whole bunch of people and hope they follow you back and voila instant money making machine. Or not.

Hahaha. Well maybe 55% of it are those who were once newbies trying to make interaction as active as they think. So they look for potential friends in the feeds. Chances are, they eventually forget about it after a couple of times. Some of them may have gotten bored, too. Hmmm. Let's say you're a truly extrovert person and has invited quite a lot in steemit (dunno about this coz I have know idea about your real life tho but yeah let's just make that as an example if you don't mind), maybe the 19% of that are your friends who truly follow you and check your posts. Then, 16% might be those people who you truly inspire and have followed you religiously. And the rest 10% maybe bots.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 64170.07
ETH 3425.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59