You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Crypto is What You Make It

in #steem4 years ago

"Who wants to help me dive into that shit show of source code?"

I do!

I've never done any open source collaboration though. I'd like to get into it, but the on-ramps aren't totally obvious. I'm also not sure I have the requisite level of skill. I mean I can loop and test in a few languages, I know various tool chains and so forth, but I'm not sure how to leverage that into something helpful.

"...openly suppressing open source development..."
"...it utterly sucks."
"A few times I looked through bits of various code..."

I didn't know about any blatant suppression, but it lines up with my experience. For a while I did some hobby work on a java based application frontend for Steem. No browser, no servers, no funny business. It sounded great, and I was really motivated by being able to develop a tool for a social medium without any intellectual property nonsense. I found that documentation was scant, out of date, and largely unhelpful. Ultimately I've been basically frustrated out of that. I don't have the best track record of completing stuff though, so I can't blame it all on extrinsic factors.

Maybe if hive isn't awful I'll start up something similar there. It might be fun, but I'll have to find the time between writing a linux framebuffer graphics engine and image recognition AI training via evolutionary strategies.

Sort:  

It's not like they blatantly told people not to develop code for Steem...except when they did. Mostly they just didn't bother with documentation, and discouraged people from working on Steem, and instead work on projects for it, or whatever. The idea was that because it was so difficult, we should leave it up to them and just work on projects on top. Mostly it was a death of a thousand cuts. Open source development isn't easy. It needs the people behind a project, or someone else, to put together the resources to make it easier to jump in. Because Steemit was taking the front, no one stepped up to make those resources instead. Really, we should have.

Guess we have to make sure we do all that usual helpful open source crap for Hive.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 64166.71
ETH 2765.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72