New stuff in Sauna, my Steem frontend project.steemCreated with Sketch.

in #steem6 years ago

Sauna-logo-icon-96

 There's the brand new original logo!

I know it's very simple but it'll do just fine for now. I did design the logo, but most of the credit for the stuff in this post should go to @blueshirt. I recruited him to do some UI coding for me and I think he's done a good job. It's definitely cooler than my old one!

 newusersauna

First off we have this new collapsing tab section on the left side. I think this is a pretty great design feature. It really cleans up the look and gives a lot of flexibility for future additions. It also makes it less painful to use, so that's always good. This page is the user page, it's where you put in all your credentials. I plan to expand it to bring up info about the user. Maybe a transaction list and balances, or maybe that will be it's own tab. We'll see.

newfeedsauna

This is the new feed page where the feed appears and where I summon up individual posts. Here you see a post by @newageinv (hope you don't mind me putting this here) about finding good content from new accounts. As you can see, below the post I now output the number of votes the post has as well as the payout in SBD. Below that view there are the boxes to specify what post to view and a search bar above that is currently unimplemented. Now on to the post tab.

 newpostsauna

 @blueshirt put in this entire HTML editor instead of the simple text box I had before. Below that, you can see a 'Post' on the right button and a toggle button to the left. The intent with these two buttons is to have some measure of post protection. Clicking the post button is not (or will not be, once I get signed transactions worked out) sufficient to submit the post. It will only work if the toggle button is also pressed. I think this a pretty neat feature and it's perhaps a little more elegant than a confirmation box popping up.

That's all the screenshots for now.

I think this UI is a big step forward from what I made at the start. I still think I have a long way to go. I put the arbitrary version number at 0.0.1 after all. Things will certainly change and it quite possibly will look much different than it does now once I finally get to distributing source code.

A quick recap.

If you haven't been following along and you want to know some more details about Sauna, see my previous posts about an unnamed Steem frontend. For those of you who won't do that, I'm working on a desktop application frontend for Steem written in java. It's very early on at this point and I'm finding scant resources in the way of java libraries for Steem. I'm undeterred by that however, and am thinking big for the future of Sauna. One of my motivations is to make a neutral frontend with no company behind it or agenda other than to bring you uncensored Steem content. I'm also largely motivated by the fun of programming and problem solving and learning about the inner workings of Steem. I will continually refine my project until such time that I deem it complete. Then I will be releasing the source code, and keep working on it and follow it for a while still.

Soon I'll be making all my posts from Sauna, but for now I'm still debugging the code for transaction signing. Wish me luck! 

Thanks for reading!

Special thanks to @blushirt for all your help making the new look.

Special thanks to @themarkymark for continuing to maintain a the public full node at rpc.usesteem.com

Special thanks to @newageinv for (hopefully) tolerating my showing your posts

Sort:  

Dear @a-non-e-moose

Please accept my honest appology for this post (not related to your topic).

I'm pretty sure I already reached out to you (asking for your vote for little initiative Im supporting) so this request may not be anything new :)

Could you please vote on this dpoll for a friendly community (SteemChurch), which Im trying to support?

It's such a fierce contest and just after 4 days we're right behind SteemitBloggers:

We've another 3 exciting days ahead of us. Perhaps you could ask around your friends if they wouldn't mind support our small initiative.

I would be very grateful :)

Link:
https://dpoll.xyz/detail/@theycallmedan/which-steem-project-should-i-delegate-20k-steempower-to-for-1-year/?rep=33&sp=3&age=30&post_count=10&stake_based=0

Please vote on "SteemChurch". I would appreciate your support a lot.

Yours
Piotr

I will indeed formally accept your apology, though I would obviously prefer comments related to my topic. Would you consider leaving another on topic comment, or possibly resteeming? You did already upvote though, and I won't be at all upset if you leave it at that. I appreciate any support.

With regards to the Dpoll post, I have checked it out and so forth. I'm a little wary of voting for two reasons. Firstly, I'm an irreligious person myself. I know this doesn't have anything to do with religion directly, just an SP delegation to a beleaguered community. Nonetheless the name alone prompts some second thoughts in my mind, not to mention their content. Second, I've simply never participated in a Dpoll before. I don't really know the intricacies of how it works and I'm extremely cautious about giving out my keys. If I recall correctly it is through SteemConnect though.

All things considered, I think @steemchurch may be the most deserving of the delegation. Though I don't agree with the religiosity, the philanthropy in Venezuela seen on the blog of @emiliocabrera I do agree with greatly. Steemitbloggers and partiko don't seem to be doing anything quite so philanthropic in the real world, as far as I can gather. Perhaps they're just less vocal about it if they are. Moreover, maybe this is the perfect opportunity for me to get acquainted with Dpoll.

I'd love to have all the time in the world to work out everything in my mind, but I suppose time is of the essence in this matter. After doing the musings required to write this reply, I've decided that I'll go out on a limb here and drop my vote in the Dpoll. Disregarding my personal misgivings, @steemchurch does seem to be the cause most worthy of support.

Even if it was off topic, thanks for the comment @crypto.piotr!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 60412.47
ETH 2375.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62