How much SP do *you* need?steemCreated with Sketch.

in #steem5 years ago

For me it's not that much.

Recently, thanks to the magic of Steem and the goodwill of our community, I went from having not enough to having enough, maybe even more than enough. By enough SP I mean that lack of Resource Credits does not impede my interaction; I can post, comment, vote and so forth as much as I care to without running up against the limits of my resources. Looking around at the SP totals of others I got the impression that I'd need the whole lot more than 20 to get to that point, but now at right around that level it's a totally different game. I never actually did the math, but even though I thought it would be a breath of fresh air I didn't think it would totally banish my RC woes.

Is there really any point in accumulating more?

Sure, I could increase the value of my vote. I'm fine with light influence on the reward pool though. Even still I might keep going up until it's not rounded down to zero cents USD just so it makes a visible difference when seen by whoever I voted for. I presume is how the vast majority look at it, in USD, and that's the main way Steemit shows values too. Not really a big deal though; I'm fine with my puny vote. I'm just one fish in the whole Steem sea after all.

I'm not trying to earn curation rewards either, but that would be a good reason to. It would certainly be nice to be rewarded for both votes given and received, but I think if I had that kind of crypto I'd already be sitting mighty pretty atop my hoard. I'm sure the fabulously wealthy Smaug was always eager to add more to his pile, but I've never made a very good dragon. Besides, the more I get, the more scarce it is for you!

I'm curious about you though

How much SP do you think it takes for you to have enough, as I described it here? I realize that I'm not really pushing out a ton of posts or making many comments, and I couldn't say if my experience is typical or not. I also realize that many have accounts with significant stake that predate HF20, and I don't really know how it used to work. Even if you've never been in this kind of situation and always had enough SP, I'd love to hear your thoughts on how much you think you need or about how the system has changed. If you have gone from having not enough to having enough like me what was your turning point, and do you do a lot or a little on the chain? I especially want to hear from curators. I wonder how much SP it takes to earn significant curation rewards these days. What better way to find out than from those out there doing it today? If you're none of those, comment anyway iff you want.

If you got this far, I wrote this with you in mind!

Thanks for reading!

Sort:  

Depends, for some transfers and comments 20-30 sp would be enough. Meanwhile, if you want influence on the platform, you would need some thousands.

Posted using Partiko Android

You happen to have some thousand SP @libert, though most is delegated. Do you notice your own influence on the platform? If so, what measure of influence is afforded to you by that amount of SP? Perhaps with examples, if you'll indulge me :)

I hadn't really considered delegation when writing this post, but it's an interesting angle to apply to the question of how much SP is enough for someone.

My influence is around 2 and half cent on Steem platform lol

Posted using Partiko Android

Ah, I thought you meant more an abstract social influence than direct influence over the reward pool. Interesting to note though, looking at your SP count, how that correlates into voting reward terms.

Yes it helps in social influence too, suppose you are dolphin/orca/whale, it'll be bit easier for you to get followers. You get more comments on your posts as your followers expect upvotes from you.

Posted using Partiko Android

Dear @a-non-e-moose

Interesting choice of topic. Easy read.

ps. Did you perhaps consider making sure that your post has a thumbnail?

By enough SP I mean that lack of Resource Credits does not impede my interaction;

Lately I delegated around 3500 SP to group of 80 new users (most of them shared common interest towards blockchain). If you like I can delegate 40SP to you and you can enjoy it until end of april 2019 (just like others do).

Let me know :)

Is there really any point in accumulating more?

I would say that it's good to reach 500 SP milestone. It's a bit easier once you get there :)

Yours
Piotr

I'm actually going to decline your generosity, but I appreciate the proposition. I'm going for more of a self-made sort of thing with Steem. That's the dream right? If it all works out, I'll be living proof that it can, and if not I already made back what I spent and then some, at the current prices. I'd say I'm well on my way down that path too! Don't take it as me spurning your charity, just pass it on to someone else. I'm sure they'll appreciate it, and like I said in the post I seem to have enough for me.

Maybe consider @blueshirt for that delegation? I can vouch for him being a blockchain proponent, and he's newer with a smaller account than me even. My sources, which will remain anonymous ;) , also tell me that he's running up against the RC barrier a lot. Other than that, I'll let him speak for himself.

Finally, to address your post script, I really only include images that I think are directly, immediately relevant to the topic of the post and are free stock images or ones I made myself that add substance. This leads to me often having text only posts. I realize this probably reduces the number of views I get, but I'm fine with that and I don't have to fiddle with image hosting and whatnot. Sure, I could've put the Steem logo, some stock image of a fancy coin to represent SP, or something there. I just didn't think it would add non-negligible quality to my post.

Good looking out though @crypto.piotr

Thank you for your kind comment @a-non-e-moose

I checked account of your friend and he didnt even post once. So I cannot commit into supporting him at this stage.

All the best
Piotr

Understandable. I think he's mostly been lurking at this point, trying to get a feel for things around here. I advised him to make an introduction post a while back, but he's much busier in the outernet than me, and never has. C'est la vie.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57346.65
ETH 3107.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40