Sort:  

Yes the distribution style is different, but it's still distribution. Right now, I'd guess that the vast majority of users participating in Steem Sports are not very interested in sports betting at all, but they are very interested in acquiring more STEEM in exchange for their attention.

Each field of interest, whether it be health, sports, fashion, music, technology, etc. will develop blogs that have their own distribution model that suits their audience.

My point is, that once there are second level (blog level) STEEM distribution options in many different fields of interest... new users will come to Steemit and find additional rewards in the fields they what, rather than all piling onto Steem Sport.

ps. I think Steem Sports is great;)

The betting on sports thing is a dangerous game to be playing. The people that enforce that stuff do not play around. I know of what I speak ...

No doubt. Steem Sports has to be very careful. My main point is in reaction to:

As a community we should either embrace this market segment or actively choose to downplay the these posts."

I don't believe we have to do either. I think this only appears to be an issue right now because of the lack of competition between STEEM distribution blogs in different fields of interest.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 59541.64
ETH 2637.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45