steem-alerts (Simple STEEM price text alerts) - version 1.1 (change log, MAJOR CHANGES)

in #steem-project7 years ago (edited)

I have finished my first update to steem-alerts today. I resolved both of the issues that I created on GitHub (https://github.com/ZachC16/steem-alerts) in this update. Here is what has changed:

#1: Addition of BTC/STEEM alert option.

I added an option to set an alert for the BTC/STEEM currency pair. I realize that this is probably just as popular (if not more so) than the USD/STEEM currency pair so I made it my first priority. Now, the setup menu begins with this prompt:

If you want to set an alert for USD/STEEM, 1 should be inputted, and if you want to set an alert for BTC/STEEM, 2 should be inputted.

Here is what the console looks like for the BTC/STEEM alert (set at 0.00084000 in this example):

And here is what the text alert looks like when the target price has been reached:

#2: Cleaning up of the code

I was looking through the code and realized that I made the same API call three times, and this would increase to five instances had I added the BTC/STEEM currency pair without fixing this duplication issue. To solve this, I simply put each of the two API calls necessary for the program to run in their own function. They are now ready to be called at any point in the program without the addition of 20 lines of unnecessary duplicate code.

#3: steemtools.com

This is not really a change, per se, but I thought it would be important to include in the update that I applied for steem-alerts to be listed on steemtools.com (just waiting on you @roelandp!)

That's all for now! Please leave some suggestions for new features in the comments or even make a pull request!

Here are some of my planned future changes:

  1. Add GBP/STEEM, EUR/STEEM and CNY/STEEM currency pairs.
  2. More clean up of code duplication (the same code that is used to send the text message can currently be found in four different places in the script).
  3. Allow for multiple alerts to be set without having to run multiple instances of the script.

I hope that this project is useful to you. I am completely open to pull requests if anyone wants to contribute.

If you find this useful or helpful to you, please apply an upvote or resteem so all of the steemit community can see and use this project! I don't have a huge following on steemit, so I need your help with spreading this project to all who can be helped by it.

This project was created using python3 and it is licensed under the MIT License.

Sort:  

I realize that I forgot to include the GitHub link: https://github.com/ZachC16/steem-alerts.

nice job!! could you add a option to show the price in dollars/euros please?

Today's update includes an option for EURO/STEEM alerts!

Just look at our yesterday call! This is awesome! @steemboost is happy! :) That was an alert!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64106.00
ETH 3129.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.16