My new welcome bot!

in #steem-project7 years ago (edited)

You may have noticed my little welcome bot leaving comments on posts with the introduction, introduceyourself and introducemyself tags last night and this morning. The goal is to warmly welcome the innumerable new users flocking to steemit every day and provide them with some good articles and advice to get them started.

This is what one of my bot's comments looks like:

What I am looking for is some other useful links and tips to add to the current message. It can't be too long, but there's definitely room for some more information. I hope to make the bot as helpful as possible to new users!

Eventually, I will move the bot over to its own dedicated account. For right now, I am just testing it.

In the future, I hope to also add another function to the bot, tracking down people who are posting many times on the introduction, introduceyourself and introducemyself tag and warning them that tag abuse is not a good thing to do and that it will result in flagging (NOTE: not to be a hypocrite, but I have tagged this post with introduceyourself because I feel that it is relevant and new users who are wondering about my bot's comment will be able to read more about it!).

I've really enjoyed writing this welcome bot and watching it welcome new users so far, and I hope that it will continue to help hundreds of new users in the future!

Sort:  

welcome to steemit @zcgoalf16 follow me so we can help each other

I'm not new to steemit @yahyaoa, this is information about my new bot that is welcoming new users.

LOL .... He is a manual bot ..Just Pasting copied response to all the introducemyself post :P
In which platform did you write the code ?? Python I guess ?

https://github.com/ZachC16/steemit-welcome-bot

The bot is written in Python. Here's the code. It's a fairly simple bot.

awesome, thanks for sharing! :)

:) I just spotted you on another post. Great idea bud :) Now following

do you have a guide for newbies on how to create our own steem bot?

I hadn't thought of it, but that is a wonderful idea and something that I will work on and post soon! I'll be sure to let you know when I post it.

i would love to see that tbh. i've got some ideas that i'd like to build out OR if you did a #steemgig i'd hire you to help me build them out! :)

I would definitely be interested in discussing these ideas with you and potentially even building some of them.

Yes @zcgolf16 I noticed! 😃
It is a big help and sometimes it is the only comment in a minnow's post - so it has an even more powerful impact.

I wish to chat with you about coding new features to filter feeds and separate resteemed from original posts on the profile page.
What do you think about this?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70541.68
ETH 3582.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.74