You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Introducing: Steem Pressure #1

in #steem-pressure7 years ago (edited)

I really appreciate your taking the time to create this sort of series. Periodically there will be heated arguments about steemit's scalability and the technical requirements for running a node, and I find myself pretty uninformed as a reader.

This fills in some of the gaps and I imagine future posts in the series will fill out more.

But I am interested in your opinion about scalability. There was a ton of growth in 2017 - and presumably that growth wil continue, as you anticipate. But does their come a point where the growth is no longer scalable for decentralized volunteer witnesses to handle? I imagine the amount of information being transacted through the blockchain in 2020 would still be nothing to, say, a Google server farm. But will it be manageable by witnesses at the current rate of growth?

(I'm really just curious - I'm not coming at this question with any pre-suppositions or hypothesis - end of the day, ima just keep plugging away at my fungal hobbies regardless - but this scalability question is a point of interest nonetheless, and as it comes up periodically in high level comment threads I'd be interested to hear your opinion.)

Thanks for all you do!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58085.08
ETH 2337.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37