Steem-pocalypse survival journal so far...

in #steem-pocalypse7 years ago (edited)

a69d3cf338005e260af64c7abd84d485--antique-books-old-books.jpg

You stumble upon an old worn book. It looks like an old hand written journal written in a very fast and shaky handwriting. There are pages that have been ripped out of the beginning of the journal... you begin reading whats left...

Day 15

Dear Diary,

My meager food and water supply is all but gone. Leaving is the only option now. The guns shots and fires are getting closer to the building so this was inevitable anyway. I will need to pry the boards off my door to get out but I have decided to search this floor first and then get the hell out of here. I think I am the only one up here, or at least I haven't heard anyone else. I'm hoping that means I might be able to find some supplies up here before I head out. God I hope I can make it out of here and find her...
@starke

Day 16

Dear Diary,

I left my room today. It was a huge pain getting those boards off but I finally managed it. I was right that there was no one up here with me...at least anymore.... I decided to search a couple of the apartments before heading out. Sadly most all of the were cleaned out of anything useful, neighbors must have had time to leave and pack up there stuff. When I got to the apartment at the end of the hall I was not prepared for what I found. When I kicked the door down I almost immediately vomited. The stench and sight of it was horrible. My neighbor had decided to take the easy way out and shot himself in the head. It took me forever to get the nerve to get near enough to him to pry the pistol out of his hand. I was so overwhelmed by the smell I didn't bother to search the rest of his apartment. This of course has left me with a pistol with no ammo.... I cant afford to make mistakes like this. I hope I can find some ammo somewhere but at least for now I can appear as if I have weapon so that is worth something. I have the cloths on my back, this stupid unloaded pistol and the real fear I wont make it out of here. Time to start moving. God I hope she made it out alive...
@starke

Day 16 (2)

Dear Diary,

I made it out to the street and I am slowly making my way out of the city. I have been trying to stay as quiet and as hidden as possible as to not attract any unwanted attention. I came across a newer looking car but left it alone because it likely had a car alarm and that would have brought all kinds of attention my way if I set it off. Down the road a bit I found an old beat up truck and I figured it might be good to check for supplies since I doubted it would have any kind of alarm. I was about to give up but I’m glad I didn’t stop because I struck gold, Beef Jerky! It’s not bullets for my pistol but at least I won’t starve for a day or two. I’m starting to get exhausted so I am going to try and find a place to make a shelter and see if I can hide and rest. I want to keep moving away from the fires and gun shots I keep hearing but I don’t think I will be able to make it much further without rest. I thought about climbing a tree to get out of sight but I was afraid I would fall asleep and then fall out of the tree with my luck. Another option was using some of the scrape I found lying around to make a shelter but that seems like it would be bring attention to myself as an obvious place someone was hiding. I decided it would be best to hide in the brush and lay low and maybe find some food in the bushes. How long has it been seen I saw her… I can barely remember…
@starke

Day 17

Dear Diary,

I hid in the bushes last night to catch some sleep. When I woke up this morning I noticed the bush had this bright purple berries on it. I remembered from scouts that I can slowly test a berry to see if it was safe by rubbing the juice on my hand and then lips and make sure there was no burning sensations. After waiting a bit and feeling nothing I tasted the berries. They tasted a little astringent but overall not bad. I decided to eat my fill and hope for the best. At least I can save my beef jerky for later assuming these berries don’t make me sick. Figuring I have been here no enough I decided to get moving as soon as I could. I need to stay one step ahead of anyone who might be following me. With any luck I might be able to find safety. Maybe I will find her when I get there.
@starke

Day 18

Dear Diary,

So far so good on the berries. Still feeling fine after eating them so it seems they were safe to eat and they filled me up. I’m glad I found them because I was starting to get really hungry with all this walking and I didn’t want to have to eat my beef jerky. I rested up bit and now I must decide if I should search around a bit for supplies before heading into the woods or not. I still have this pistol with no bullets so it seems like I should try and look for some ammo if I want this thing to be useful at all. It seems like a risk but if I don’t go too deep into town I should be able to avoid detection. Every day that passes I get more and more terrified of what the future holds. What if I don’t find safety…what if there is no safe places anywhere anymore….what is the point of even trying…. No… I cant think like this. I need to keep moving and focus of staying alive and putting one foot in front of another. If I stop and think too much Ill go crazy or make a mistake that will get me killed. I have to keep going so I can find her…
@starke

Day 18 (2)

Dear Diary,

After nervously and quickly searching a couple buildings on the outskirts of town I stumbled upon some water purification tablets. I added them to my pack with my beef jerky and unloaded pistol. So it seems I have food and water covered for a little bit which is good. I really need to find some ammo for this gun but at least for the time being I can pretend like its loaded and hopefully use it scare away any potential threats. I decided I need to get away from the city since the gun shots sound like they are getting closer and closer. I headed into the deep woods in search of safety. While walking I came across a man that appears to be sleeping in a tree. I am hiding in a bush right now debating what I should do next. Do I try and wake him? Do I sneak away? I’m pretty well equipped right now and with all the dangers out there I think it might be best to avoid other humans for the time being. I think I am going to try and avoid him and keep moving. I have to stay focused….I need to stay focused….I wonder if she is having same thoughts and fears I am having right now…dammit stay focused...
@starke

Day 19

Dear Diary,

I walked into the woods for what seemed like ages. Every noise seemed like a threat, every shadow was an enemy and every movement I thought I saw was an attacker. I came to a large bush and my worst fears seemed to come true. I thought I saw someone walking behind the bush. Everything in my gut told me to turn and run but some small voice deep down inside said that I should stay. The thought flashed across my mind that if I did happen to run into someone who was friendly I would have a much better chance of surviving. So against my better judgement I decided to call out and hope they were friendly. If they weren’t friendly I was hoping my pistol would scare them off. To my great relief a voice called back and said they didn't want a fight and they came out into the open with there arms raised. I stepped into the clearing the same way and that is when I met @dtbahoney. He introduced himself and I instantly found him to be an extremely friendly gentleman. Amazingly we seemed to have found similar pistols along the way. He had run into a friendly traveler a day back and he had given him 11 bullets and fed him some edible plants. He had also managed to find some water purification tablets as well. He was nice enough to share a few of his bullets with me and we loaded up our pistols and set off together with a newly renewed sense of humanity and hope.
As we walked along I began to get hungry and was seriously thinking about cracking open my beef jerky but not long after we started walked we ran into an old RV with a sign and what looked like canned goods under it. It seemed like a trap but those canned goods looked too good to pass up, even if it was a trap. @dtbahoney had the great idea to sneak up behind the RV and quickly grab a couple cans. I covered him with my pistol but it wasn’t even needed because before I even had a chance to get in position he was back with two cans of beans! He must be some kind of survival ninja. I was hungry so I chowed down immediately but he had eaten the day before so he saved his beans for later. We decided to leave the area and head deeper into the woods.
As we were walking into the woods we started to hear gun fire behind us. We took off running and it seemed like it was getting closer and closer and someone may have been following us. We quickly took cover and pulled out our pistols. We are going to face this head on and battle for our lives. I hope I can survive this so I can see her again…
@starke

There is more but you must rest. You can read more soon...

Part 2:
https://steemit.com/steem-pocalypse/@starke/steem-pocalypse-survival-journal-part-2#comments

Image source: https://tinyurl.com/yb5px5hx

A big thank you to @papa-pepper for creating such an awesome game in Steem-pocalypse. Check out the steem-pocalypse page for more info and how to play next season.

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by starke from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

I've loved reading your journal entries and the mysterious "her" you want to see as the game continued. It's nice you put these entries together in one post. Very creative idea for the game.

What a friendly chap that @dtbahoney. Sharing his own bullets! :-)
Great writing BTW.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 55826.71
ETH 2298.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39