You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: STEEM-POCALYPSE SURVIVAL GAME CONTEST - SEASON 6 DAY 10 ROUND 1 - 675 SBD PRIZE POOL SO FAR

  • OPTION 1 – Try to rub a poultice of this plant on your wounds and eat some too just for good measure.

Sort:  

Hello, @novaatebatman---I changed my choice to Option 3, before the cutoff time. This will be my FINAL answer for this round, after ages of going through field manuals and photos of plants online. :)

There are actually many situations when covering your wounds is a much better idea. In an outdoors scenario, if you have access to honey, putting honey on your wound, then covering it with something else is the ideal treatment. (Honey has antiseptic and antibiotic qualities, and will prevent other things from getting into the wound.)

But honey isn't an option here. :D

Just wanted to add that in, as someone that is immunocompromised (and therefore extremely susceptible to infections), has trouble healing, and has learned a lot about first aid and alternative first aid.

Thanks for the info, @novaatebatman. I know about honey being an excellent wound treatment. It's highly antibiotic. But, I read four survival manuals online that all said don't cover the wound, but pack it with herbs or gauze and keep it open, so that's what I went with. A couple specifically said never use mud, though I have heard before that mud is good. I guess the situation really does depend on the individual person. Some people may do better with closing the wound, and others may need to keep it open.

(I changed my choice to #3, before the cutoff time, just to make sure you noticed. I did a lot of plant research for this. Lol!)

Using gauze is still covering it, lol.

And if you (under normal everyday situations, not survival situations) are able to, it's actually best to keep a lot of wounds wet (antibiotic ointment is usually the best thing to use, or vaseline, or honey, etc) and covered. It significantly reduces scarring.

Did you know that the reason people get the urge to scratch their scabs off is because if you leave them alone, they can actually keep your wound open and increase scarring? (Though if you're rough with removing the scabs, you'll most likely increase scarring anyways.)

It depends on the depth of the wound/thickness of the scab and the location. But this especially happens to me on my hands and the backs of my arms.

I dunno which option is the best for STEEM-POCALYPSE, but you better pick fast!

I made my final decision. Option 3. :)

(As for the wound thing, yeah, I just had a mole removed from my jawline yesterday, for cosmetic reasons, and they recommended keeping ointment on the wound to reduce scarring.)

I have a pistol w/8 rounds of ammo, a knife, water purification tablets, a plant field guide, and an note. I do not need to eat until the end of day 10. After going back and forth, I will take a shot in the dark and go with option 1 to rub this plant on my wounds and eat some. I hope I am making the right choice!

I have a knife, a flashlight and rifle with 4 rounds of ammunition. I have to eat prior to the end of Day 10 in order to avoid starvation. I choose Option 1 this round.

I go with Option 1 this round.

In my inventory I have a NOTE and the FIELD FOOD SURVIVAL GUIDE. I need to eat by the end of DAY 10.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 68244.61
ETH 2640.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69