CHALLENGE ACCEPTED: PUBLIC SPEAKING IN CHINESE!

in #steem-music6 years ago (edited)

Last Saturday night, I was given the great privilege by my supervising pastor to speak to the college students and youth in Penang Christian Center in Butterworth.


image source

Public speaking is not something that is too new to me.
However, I cannot pride myself in being a great speaker nor ever think I'm a "natural" communicator,
as I am well aware of my still-in-progress status, I still lack the 10,000 times of practice experience,
and also I know I have very limited vocabulary.

But I do not usually have much stage fright as some would normally have (like stuttering, shaking hands or knocking knees),
And I do have a certain level of confidence when it comes to public speaking especially to youth.

2018-02-04 22.07.48.jpg

YET this time is different! I felt very unprepared!
I am required to communicate to the audience in CHINESE,
I mean it's not hard to talk in the "MALAYSIAN Chinese", I think I can communicate to others informally and casually downstage.
But to deliver a speech or a sermon in Chinese, I can't even read many of the Chinese characters!

CHINESE!
I failed my Chinese when I was in form 2 (which led to me dropping the whole subject after that year)!


image source

But because Pastor Wilson has somehow asked me to do it, I took up the challenged and prepared hard for it. Also, thanks to Google translate, the preparation was made easier.

Did I nailed it that night? I doubt so!
Man... my Chinese reading is so bad that the kids have to read the text for me,
BUT I gained a new experience and I think I wouldn't mind to do it again the next time!
And it seems like most of the audience did enjoy my sharing that night (at least from the feedback).
And if I'm willing to keep failing and keep trying,
I may one day reach the level where I am comfortable and confident speaking to public in mandarin.


image source

I ended my speech that night with a short music presentation,
I got @jesonhuang to performed and sing a Chinese song alongside me!
FUN FACT: Jeson can't even read Chinese!
So Kudos to him for taking up the challenge in performing in Chinese! Proud of him!

Hope all of you will enjoy this raw footage of our performance! Videographer: @stephhchia



#steem-music

Sort:  

Omg high five banana! xD Kudo's to getting through that in one piece! haha. Nice job with your performance! :)

I was really bad at Chinese as well, more so now when I barely have any chinese speaking friends around. Here's to hoping we both get better in Mandarin, cheers! xD

Yea!! Let's both improve!! Btw @melissamyra, your art is amazing!!! KEEP IT UP!! Very impressed!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 60647.08
ETH 3349.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47