Color Theory

purple city at night.jpg

The last few days I’ve been really feeling color theory. Purple is an abundance color. The hue is commonly associated with wealth and prosperity. Purple tends to also be connected to royalty. The color green (and my personal favorite color) signifies nature, wilderness and healing. Black can be depicted in dark themes such as, “Self–Portrait with Death Playing the Fiddle” an Arnold Böcklin piece; where death is obviously a main focus. However, black can also be represented with power being the overwhelming emotion. I also have been feeling quite playful with my art lately. The big eyes I’ve been using are unrealistic with thick brush strokes. I kind of like the loose, lack of control.

my own color meanings.jpg

I use this chart as a reference of what color strikes what emotion. Using a combination of these can help set the mood in a drawing or painting. By using color theory and the color wheel I’ve been able to dig a little deeper within myself to pull out a more unique style. Sketching to me, has become more personal and more about what emotion I want to convey.

A Self Portrait:

“Wonderment & Powerful Self Healing”

cartoon me.jpg

Exiled Emotion Art.jpg
Check out my socials and follow me for more content!

Try using color theory in your art and let me know your experience! Thank you all for reading!

Sort:  
Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 56523.53
ETH 2982.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.15