This Holocaust Museum Ad Will Make You Smile

in #steem-marketing5 years ago (edited)

The creative director looked up and said, ”I never thought I’d see ads for a Holocaust Museum that would make me smile. Good work”

Below is spec work I did a long time ago for the US Holocaust Museum in DC.

The brief was to create a campaign that combated Holocaust denial by encouraging people to visit the museum.

It’s a hard thing to think about, but Holocaust denial is on the rise again.

And soon there will be no eyewitnesses left to refute it.

The catch was that we couldn’t respond to Holocaust denial with overly sad and horrific thoughts and images.

The idea for the campaign came while watching a video of a Holocaust survivor speaking at a high school.

When one of the kids asked her what she thought about Holocaust deniers she said, ”I don’t know what to say to that, but I hear that Elvis is giving a concert next door.”

Everyone laughed.

Then, like boss, she went right on to the next question.

As the grandchild of Holocaust survivors I thought that was very powerful.

So I created these ads.

0-1.jpg

0-2.jpg

0-3.jpg

0-4.jpg

0-5.jpg

Sort:  

I think it was a bit ahead of it's time. Would be perfect in today's little oh deary me I just got offended world. Nice work.

Typo? Where the girl says Elvis is next door it reads "Store"

Thanks and thanks!

That's a clever angle! When was the campaign?

It was spec work. Never really happened. I did get to show it to Elie Weisel though. He loved it.

Congratulations @obercreative! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published more than 10 posts. Your next target is to reach 20 posts.
You received more than 250 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 500 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60787.79
ETH 3242.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46