Read to Write

in #steem-marketing5 years ago (edited)

ext-1.jpg

Ever wonder where the “copy” in copywriting comes from?

Now, that reminds me of a story.

One day during the Civil War, a wise man of the day called on the White House to unload a cargo of advice.

At some point in the conversation, President Lincoln made a remark that he too has a great reverence for learning.

“This is not,” Lincoln explained, “because I am not an educated man. I feel the need of reading. It is a loss to a man not to have grown up among books.”

To which the wise visitor responded “Men of force can get on well without books. They do their own thinking instead of adopting what other men think.”

“Yes,” Lincoln replied, “but books serve to show a man that those original thoughts of his aren’t very new after all.”

This was a point the wise man did not want to debate, so he cut his meeting short.

Whenever writers ask me for books to improve their writing, I always tell them to get their hands on the works of Abraham Lincoln, particularly a collection of his jokes and stories.

I can’t remember how long I’ve had this book.

Someone gave it to me as a kid and I remember gobbling up every word.

And I’m still gobbling.

It contains lessons that just can’t be taught in any other way.

And it really teaches you how you can explain anything with a simple story.

Out of all our Presidents, Lincoln was the best Chief Copywriter.

And out of all the books that have stuck with me through the years, this is one that has influenced me the most.

Sort:  

My curiosity is up. Thanks for the recommendation.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 61420.98
ETH 3276.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47