You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A Day Of Whale Abstinence Will Answer The Question!

in #steem-ideas8 years ago

Well, this is a nice theory, and i assume the lack of whale votes accounts for the recent "disturbances in the force" however, my vote is worth the same as it always was, so I'm not sure your theory is playing out. My vote should be worth more if it's based on a set payout divided between all voters and the heavy hitters are removed, correct?

Sort:  

The key variables are Steem price ( which has been falling) and amount of Steem power voted. If we had a whale fasts the Steem power voted could fall by 90 percent. The. Your vote would be about ten x as powerful. It would be interesting for someone to monitor Steem powder voted per day so we could see in real time our relative voting power.

Well, here is what I know. My damn vote is worth the same now as it was before all of this started happening. It changes the expected payout by the same 2 to 3 cents, only now my own votes are down almost 40%, while my followers have grown by 20%. There is nothing wrong with the current system. It was rewarding posts based on merit in the eye of the voter, which is what a truly free market system should do!

What are you basing this on? Look at your vote. The whales primarily abstained, or pulled back voting power yesterday, was your vote worth more? Mine was not.

They are still voting as far as I can tell, why do you think they stopped? I did notice post values going up yesterday so maybe some of them pulled back But I suspect they were still voting. We need to tally up how many whale votes came in yesterday.

I've had a 30% drop in votes over all and my payouts almost instantly went from $30 on the low end to $250, to $.65-$1.34 $2 being the highest in about 48 hours. Something changed.

Interesting. I would love to see some stats, you maybe right though. I guess thinking about it it might take two days. My best post was active for three days because of late votes. I wish I had posted more!

We have stats on how many whale votes, but not on the power they used, except individually, on steemitstats, so you could trace it, from catchawhale, that tells you who was voting, to steemitstats, where you could find the power.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57738.58
ETH 3102.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34