Help Me Build a Topic Feed!

in #steem-ideas8 years ago

I love following users but I also want to follow topics like crypto-news. Here's how!

This may or may not be an upcoming feature but we can build it now if you know how to make bots.

First build a series of feed bots.

The first should be cryptonewsfeed. He will help people follow crypto-news tag.

Now program the bot to repost all crypto-news

The bot will:

  1. go to crypto-news new
  2. copy info from the most recent posts
  3. every 30 minutes make a summary post that has the title, author, vote count, and sbd count, and link for each post in crypto-news.

Now users can follow the bot and have a topic feed!

. The bot post will have links to all he recent post!

Issues:Will it create spam? No!

Like Radiosteem, users that don't like the topic can mute it. This works well for me with radio
Steem.

Issues: Wilk it steal the votes of the authors (ala hidden-gems) No!

This is only a link and title and only to make a topic feed easy. The voters will likely go and read the post they are interested in. I'll probably vote the bot just to reward the creator but I'm imagine it would also get down votes.

Issues: Can I build it? No!

I have no idea how to make more than one account, how to program a bot, or how to do any of his. I do now how to be thankful though if someone makes my idea a reality!

Someone Please Build This!

Sort:  

It looks like no one else wants a topic feed? Or is it just a beautiful Saturday everywhere (like nyc)

https://steemit.com/steemit/@l0k1/steemhordes-a-proposal-for-a-sidechain-for-groups-and-moderation

To the contrary. This idea is a big part of how I have caught the attention of the devs and I was going to build it with or without their help. But I think now that they are probably going to integrate it into the architecture fully. You're welcome :)

That doesn't seem that similar to what I was proposing.

Topic, Working Group, when it comes down to it, it's all the same. gnu.org is both a topic, and a working group, for example. It requires a name registry, and a name registry requires a registered administrator, and usually such an administrator requires the capacity to delegate authority to act under the registered name.

If you just want to make unique #hashtags, then you already can do that, and you need only type the hashtag after https://steemit.com - for example https://steemit.com/created/steemportal or https://steemit.com/trending/steemportal, or conveniently, as the platform allows, #steemportal - a hashtag that I created. the prefix 'created' indicates to sort posts with this tag in reverse chronological order. Within this platform, hashtags automatically turn into the correct URL that gives you the hashtag feed you are looking for.

But I don't think that is what you are looking for, or why would you be lamenting the lack of existence of such a thing? No, a moderated group, that has for the group founder, the ability to add and remove members, to narrow down and eliminate spamming scumbags, is precisely what you are looking for.

I have been campaigning for this for about a week and a half now, and the interest I have got from the developers because I have proposed a plausible mechanism to implement it, suggests that they consider my idea to be viable. So, I would say to you, don't worry, it's coming.

Can't help here but I would use a feed on archiecture!

That's a good one but do crypto news first. There is not much architecture here yet.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 67888.24
ETH 3518.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71