What's the deal with the topics and tags list?

in #steem-help8 years ago

I was surprised to see that the #circlejerk tag had made it almost to the top of the Tags and Topics list the other day but it has since fallen off even the expanded list. (The list you get when you click “Show more topics…”) I am surprised the tags and topics expanded list isn’t more stable as it makes it hard to label a post with it changing all the time.

For example, for this post, is it #steem-help (which I picked for this post since it was on the list) or #steemit-help, which seems like a better fit since it’s about the blog not the token, or #steemit-faq, which would be a good fit since I doubt I’m the first one with this question, but while that used to be on the expanded list but I see is now gone.

Why such variability and is it just a function of what tags people choose to employ? Any chance for some guidelines?

(And yes, I did a search to see if this had been answered, but no luck, though this guy had the same question.)

Sort:  

I think tags are listed by what is currently being used and popularity. A tag lookup page would be nice to see more than what is currently popular.

Tags drive me nuts. I can never think of more than one or two tags for my posts if I don't have a list to look at!

Currently looking for or browsing for content that doesn't belong to a popular tag is difficult to find as well.

I am completely lost when it comes to what tag I should use and there definitely needs to be more consistency

Tags are meant to be flexible and can be subjective. I looked at your posts and your tags are great!

The only thing to avoid is "bad tagging". Don't use popular tags like steemit, introduction, and such if it is not relevant to the content. You would post an article about only cats and use tags such as dog and robot.

Hi! This post has a Flesch-Kincaid grade level of 10.3 and reading ease of 80%. This puts the writing level on par with Michael Crichton and Mitt Romney.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66342.89
ETH 3280.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72