You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: ❓Answering Common Questions: Can I vote for Myself?

in #steem-help6 years ago

I would love to also read what your take is on downvoting others, it has been a super negative thing so far, but I can also just see how important it is in order to teach others how to behave etc!!

One thing I think should be added, that when we are self-voting only, we forget that once we grow, we will get others to vote on us as well. (And it does increase your reach if you make other folks like you when you vote for them)

Thanks for this great opinion piece again @sykochica!


t.

Sort:  

Personally, I only tag for abuse...it's rare that I flag for disagreement on rewards and never simply because someone holds a different opinion than me.

Abuse in this case is defined for things like plagiarism, spam, tag spam, etc. Though I do tend to give an explicit warning to somebody first (though most people never heed that, or just respond with a big FU.)

The only time I've flagged outside of this was when somebody was saying that my trivia giveaway nights were just a ploy to get upvotes from minnows (which was all around ridiculous, and easily proven incorrect idea.) I work hard to keep my actual reputation of honesty (not just the rep # on here) intact...so when that person didn't update their slander, I threw out some flags.

Much like my 'mod powers' in general chat...I really prefer to not have to use flags.

I agree, I just had to downvote someone's post who just spammed that link underneath my recent post. Feels bad when people are just using the copy paste spam. :( I also think if folks are trying to without a reason attack you on a personal level (when it's not based on any truth) You should be able to defend your reputation like you said. And knowing you, I think you were right to do so.
You are helping so many people with a kind of energy I could never put forth.


t.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59715.05
ETH 3186.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42