❓Answering Common Questions: How do I transfer money between Steemit and Poloniex? 👛

in #steem-help6 years ago (edited)

For new users, transferring money around can be quite scary. It's often not like anything we've done before.

This guide will walk you through the steps of transferring your money between Steemit and Poloniex. If you use a different cryptocurrency exchange, the general idea is the same, even if things look different.

Q: How do I get my Steem Dollar or Steem deposit addresses from Poloniex?

  1. Login to Poloniex
  2. Hover over Balances (near the top right of the screen) and click Deposits & Withdrawls
  3. Enter Steem into the Search Box and click the Deposit button for either Steem or Steem Dollars (which ever you are transferring.)
  4. Copy the alpha-numeric code that it gives you. (I hid mine in this picture)
  5. You'll need this to fill out the transfer form on Steemit

Q: How do I transfer money from Steemit to Poloniex?

  1. Click the your portrait at the top right of your screen and then in the drop down selections choose wallet.
  2. Click the dropdown next to Steem Dollars (or Steem) and click Transfer.
  3. Fill out the form:

    a. From = @yourAccountName (this is pre-filled for you)
    b. To = @poloniex
    c. Amount = your choice in Steem Dollars or Steem
    d. Memo = Paste your Steem Dollar or Steem deposit address from Poloniex (or whatever exchange you're sending it to) into this field. (See instructions above to show you how to get this.)
  4. Hit Submit. You can track it's progress on the Poloniex's Deposit and Withdrawl History page.

Q: How do I transfer money from Poloniex to Steemit?

  1. Login to Poloniex
  2. Hover over Balances (near the top right of the screen) and click Deposits & Withdrawls
  3. Enter Steem into the Search Box and click the Withdraw button for either Steem or Steem Dollars (which ever you are transferring.)
  4. Fill out the form:

    a. Address = Your Steemit username (i.e. sykochica) without the @!
    b. Memo = You can leave this blank (even though some guides say it needs the Steemit Private Memo Key)
    c. Amount = Amount of Steem Dollars or Steem to transfer
  5. Click Withdraw. You can track it's progress on the Poloniex's Deposit and Withdrawl History page.

I do plan to create guides on transferring between Steemit and Bittrex, Bittrex/Poloniex and Coinbase, and Coin base and your local bank in the near future. Feel free to leave a comment if there are guides you would like to have created.

Please upvote and resteem if you found this guide helpful.

The full list of my guides can be found HERE.





Image Sources:
Money

Sort:  

Cool and simple :) good step by step post once again !!

Such great and useful information. Thanks for figuring out how to make it readable and understandable for those of us not as clued in to all of this. Kind of mind boggling sometimes. Then again, I suppose it's good mental exercise ( :

Thank you! I really enjoy figuring out how something works and making it way simpler. I still cringe at how the basics of calculus is taught. Lol

does withdrawal of steem from poloniex work right now? because I saw a yellow info box saying that steem and sbd withdrawals are temporarily disabled

I had seen that recently, but didn't when I just checked. My guess is that they opened the Steem/SBD trading back up in the last day or so (when I saw the Bittrex and Poloniex prices get back to being close to each other.)

It's hard for me to say for sure so I'd say if you try it, start by sending a tiny amount and make sure it completes. If all is good, can do the whole amount you wanted.

Thanks for this...it would be great if you could do one for HitBTC as well.

Absolutely!
I'll see what I can do for the HitBTC guide. I've not used them before but wouldn't figure it to be a problem.

This is a good tutorial for those wishing to diversify. Thanks my friend.

Happy to help!! I remember my first time trying to go through these steps...so afraid I'd make a mistake and I'd lose my transfer. But after doing it a few times, it's not so bad.

really useful information sykochica

Thank you!
Feel free to ask any questions you might have in general. I'm happy to help out. :)

Great work on this tutorial. I am new to steemit, so post like these are very helpful. I like that you had pictures that show where to click and where to enter stuff in. Thank you!

Thank you! I have a full guide list linked at the top of my blog on the profile section if it's helpful 😀

is it good to try right now poloniex can disable it too anyways the post is super simple and informative

I've have seen it happen, but it's never impacted me much. I'd guess this happens on other exchanges too, but I've not spent much time on the other exchanges.

If it is concerning or causes you issues you can just use a different exchange. Bittrex (not currently allowing new sign ups and requires some personal information it will verify depending on your country), shapeshift, bitshares (https://wallet.bitshares.org), or others out there.

But you'll still follow a similar process as the guide, though the buttons and codes will be in different places.

yes i used it very nicely described each step :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63968.82
ETH 3136.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.28