You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Curation Bot’s - Race to the Bottom - How it will Begin to Hurt Authors on ‘The List’..

in #steem-help8 years ago

An interesting parallel lies in a view of stock market trading:

  • There is technical trading, which looks at trade patterns, floors, ceilings, and other market defined attributes of a stock. Technical traders aim to make money by trading on how the stock's market performance, and tend to work for near-term profits. Buy on Monday, Sell on Friday when the market swings, for example
  • The opposite of that lies in fundamental trading. In this strategy, the stock is valued on the company's performance, P/E , dividends, and debt ratios, for example. This strategy is a long term strategy, and is based on the premise that the value of the stock will grow in market value

The similarity to Steemit lies in the tactics of curating; the behavior that you describe so well in your post is similar to technical trading. Curators who search out new authors of quality, or seek to find a "hidden gem" of a post are taking an approach more in line with the fundamentals trading concept.

I'm not going to argue that one strategy is better than the other. For my own part, I did well in the stock market by using both approaches. I bought undervalued stock, and traded in options.

However, there was underlying value to be had on the market, and undervalued companies could make profit without being traded on the market.

On the Steemit platform, new users who are unrecognized are going to quit taking part in and building value for the Steemit "market".

I would suggest Steemit investors that want to maintain the long term value of the platform diversify their curating approach, and spend some time digging up new content in addition to chasing the trending dragon.

Ansd since I haven't said this yet, well-written!

Sort:  

@stevescoins Great post. Something which i have touched on in the past, but not presented as eloquently as yourself.

Thank you! Feel free to re-use the analogy; it is the idea that counts, and ideas are better when coming from trusted speakers...according to most folks ;)

I might well do a post along those lines in the future. If you could DM me on chat so I have a dialog open, I will get in touch if/when I decide to do so, and we can bounce some idea's back a forward...

I'll do that; I haven't looked at the chat side yet, so it may be a while...

I agree, the curation market is entirely a trading market.

@wingz, your last blog on building Steemit value fits well with ollie's discussion and my comment

We are both Oil traders (@wingz and myself), that's probably why we are so in line with your thinking ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 63788.21
ETH 2472.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67