You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Announcement: All votes will be up to 8 times more powerful in new hard fork!

in #steem-help8 years ago

I have a few points I'd like to make here:

  • When I had just 1000 SP, I would often get a curation award far greater than .001. In fact, it was almost never that low.

  • The truth is you will now be able to make a single 100% upvote worth 8x whatever your vote was worth before. If your vote were worth 1/8 of a cent, you'd now have the option to make it worth a penny.
    If your vote were worth 10 cents, you'd now have the opportunity to make it worth 80. Regardless of what your vote was worth before, you'll now have the option to make it 8x more.

  • Curation awards have little effect on my voting habits. Sure, curation rules would have more effect on my voting if I had a ton of Steem Power (10s or 100s of thousands). However, just because I can't get much of a curation award doesn't mean I don't vote. Similar to Facebook, Reddit, or Instagram, I upvote things when I come across something I like. I get paid nothing on all those platforms, but still use and upvote things on them.

  • Lastly, I think most people don't realize the power of minnows. Get votes from a handful of minnows in a short period and it can be enough to push the post into the "hot" category. When a post shows up in "hot" it is much more likely to be upvoted by a whale. Furthermore, whale and dolphin bots are constantly on the lookout for minnows who are consistently upvoting future-popular content. When a minnow is great at finding and upvoting the best posts, bots start to follow the actions of those users.​

Sort:  

I think most people don't realize the power of minnows. Get votes from a handful of minnows in a short period and it can be enough to push the post into the "hot" category.

Minnows have a lot of value to the dolphins, as you say. But there is no incentive for minnows to vote, so they stop, especially when everyone is ignoring them... They're going to get even more ignored now that the restriction on votes means that the total votes will shrink by 87%. That's 87% of articles not getting any votes at all...

Your 2nd bullet point for the win! The rules change is strictly increasing the number of options available to people.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63135.01
ETH 2546.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64