What is the "Redeem Rewards" system ?

in #steem-help7 years ago (edited)

pic.jpg

I have noticed this appearing for the past few weeks now, it's a recent feature and I could not figure out what this means.

Can somebody please explain to me what these SP rewards are and for what they are awarded? I have noticed that the money goes directly into my SP wallet.

But how do I get these rewards and what for?

Sort:  

They're either from curating content (voting) or for writing posts and setting the payout to 100% SP.

The last major steem update changed it so those payouts need to be manually claimed, rather than just automatically crediting you.

I see I was wondering about the curation pool, since I'm getting rewards all the time.

Yes it does make sense to make it manual to have people more engaged in the website, rather than just to setup bots.

The rewards collect there now instead of going right into your wallet. I think it was added as a way to consolidate payouts to both save on blockspace and to allow for the smaller payouts to not vanish due to rounding. Possibly for future features as well.

I just collect them once a week or if I accumulate more than a few sp.

So they don't earn interest?

Nor do I lose them if I don't collect them for a month or a year or so? Right?

No they don't earn interest. Only SP earns interest right now and not much. As far as leaving them well it doesn't do much good to leave them there but I don't think they disappear.

Ok but I am not earning curation rewards on those either? So I have to claim those rewards in order to increase my SP pool to get more curation rewards right?

Yep you have to claim them to do anything with it. It's in limbo until you do.

Ok I see, thanks for answers.

This was helpful. I was scratching my head trying to sort this all out. I'm glad that its a manual process to redeem them. Brings a whole new perspective to proof of curating (proof of work).

I click my button and nothing happens. :(

PENIS
Positively Entirely NOT Intuitively Simple
It's a geek thing.
they fixed something that wasn't broke
just 'punch' anytime it shows that you have rewards
eventually they'll remove it I imagine.

Maybe the rounding error, or in order to combat bots, you now have to login to claim the rewards, which will slow down curation bots.

Curation?
riiiiiiight.
what's your view/vote ratio?
odd that your stuff can be curated unread so well huh?

Good question, I I've got the first reword so was wondering as well ..

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62952.72
ETH 2429.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56