You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Mind Your Votes! An investigation and guide to maximizing your Curation Rewards.

in #steem-help8 years ago

Thanks for this informative writeup. Hopefully I've chosen just the right time to upvote it ;)

Re: self-upvoting, it's true that

By clicking this, you forego any curation rewards for your post

but you do so in favor of the post author, which is you!

Sort:  

Came here to say this, but looks like you beat me to it!

I'm afraid this post is likely to be lost in the void now! So it wouldn't have mattered. But who knows, with the 30 day extension now, maybe it can be revived. It's pretty weird how my preliminary article with just a couple of charts trended while this analysis which took me 4 days to write is going to be lost!

You have raised an interesting point! In posts that I tried upvoting, my Weight showed up as 0- i.e. no part of the Curation Rewards. As to whether or how that goes to the author, I haven't been able to verify. Would be great if someone with inside knowledge of the code could chime in. :)

The instant self-upvote rewards do go to the author (you) under the 30 minute rule so there is no harm there. The only reason not to use it is if you think the post won't get votes and you don't want to waste the voting power.

@smooth i have seen many users over here constantly upvoting themselves on every comment, but personally i dont like this way , i prefer to give rewards to someone's else for his good content in post- not to upvote myself to get anything more, i prefer to make it by myself doing posts that are helpful to other users.

The self-voting feature we were discussing only applies to posts not comments.

Voting yourself routinely on comments is questionable since comments usually don't get that much in the way of votes and rewards, and each comment vote uses the same vote power as a post vote. I only do it when I feel my comment is particularly important and I want to promote it, but in that case it isn't for the rewards, it is for visibility.

However, there are some users (I'm one of them) who don't post very much but are active on comments. They may feel that their comments are useful and a valuable contribution to the discussion, so worthy of rewards. (I'll leave it to others to decide if my comments are valuable.)

Thank you @smooth. That does make sense. Wish I could edit the post - this was clearly an oversight on my part, but it's already been locked! I just hope readers see this chain.

I only do it when I feel my comment is particularly important and I want to promote it, but in that case it isn't for the rewards, it is for visibility.

^^^ THIS

👍nice information, thanks @liberosist

I'm afraid this post is likely to be lost in the void now!
Somehow I stumbled upon your post two weeks later. ;) - But the problem, of course, remains. There is a lot of good stuff on this platform that just burns away like straw and is never heard of again. On the other hand quick memes and visual content get a lot of upvotes.

@nevid. Thank you, this seems to be the consistent trend

Badda-bing, right there baby.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66772.03
ETH 3237.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.25