You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: ❓Answering Common Questions: How do I use Steemit.Chat? What does it do for me? 💬

in #steem-help6 years ago

Useful post, thanks. I am not sure I understand why there is no DM function on Steemit? Is it only because of security/privacy issues?

Sort:  

I can't speak for Steemit Inc, but some reasons I had heard before was wanting any 'on blockchain' was wanting to have it encrypted. But with most people using steemit.chat / steem.chat and discord, it wouldn't shock me to see it not be anytime soon on the roadmap.

BUT....you might check out busy.org ...which is just a different way to view steemit that has a bit more of a Facebook look and feel. It DOES have an embedded DM system. (at least last time I looked.)

Lastly, there is Mango Steem Chat that I believe is still in alpha, but it's actually on the blockchain.

Thanks I'll check them out. What bugs me is having to register to a new platform every time... cross platform login is soooo convenient lol

I can definitely understand that...however this is a pretty harsh split between one being on the blockchain and one not. Normal 'single sign on' options don't really work when this is the case. Now, you do in essence get the single sign on between Steemit, Busy.org, Steepshot, ChainBB.org, Zappl, Dtube, Dlive, Dmania, Dsound...sure I missed some here, lol.

I guess I'll get used to it :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 65045.20
ETH 3523.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37