You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: ❓Answering Common Questions: What are flags and downvotes? When should they be used? 🚩

in #steem-help7 years ago

Today I flagged for the first time. The Introduce Yourself feed is crammed with people who are well past introduction territory and the actual new people are getting completely lost in there.

So I posted saying that if you wanted to fish for followers in the IY section, at least do these people the courtesy of actually reading their posts and giving them a thoughtful comment (thanks @shayne) and within minutes I had a bunch of "Welcome to Steemit" comments with flashing neon "Follow ME!" signs from people who clearly hadn't read the post at all. Irony.

So I spent awhile flagging and letting people know why and I took down the flag for anyone who removed the tag. I don't think I have much power in my flag, lol, but the comments helped and several removed the tags so I found today that it can be effective when done politely.

Sort:  

Perfect! I can absolutely understand needing to get a point across that way. Just like you said..there are effective AND polite ways to go about things..which really is the key.

I very rarely flag myself...and it's always rather funny when people respond to the nicely worded comment of what the issue is and why...they just say 'F*** you!'. The upside of those people is I no longer feel bad about flagging them. lol

Good work on that...thank you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 56855.37
ETH 2976.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39