Choosing Tags: A Spreadsheet and a Question

in #steem-help7 years ago

I was looking at this page to figure out what tags are popular: https://steemit.com/tagsSteemitTags.png

And I started wondering about that fourth column, "Payouts". Is that the amount of Steem Dollars paid out per tag? If so, it seems awfully high.

I did some calculations, which you can see here: https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/16jEIuzIDR34SFGEwT3mGCxeQE555MYJuyDCzfI8_Xo0/edit?usp=sharing

Here's a screenshot of the top performing tags (the fifth column is the payouts divided by number of posts, and the sixth column is comments per post).
steemitTagsSpreadsheet.png

So, does this mean, for example, that there have been 272 posts tagged "Mathematics," which have received, on average, $165 per post?? I'm probably missing something, but even if I am, this could probably provide some valuable insight into what tags tend to have the most engagement.

Ideas? Comments?

Sort:  

My understanding is as you have suggested it is. Yes it seems really skewed but in the beginning of Steemit, last year, posts were often earning a few hundred dollars each...and some steemers were making $1000's per post. 3 days after I joined the platform, @dollarvigilante arrived with a tonne of instant followers from YouTube and his personal blog. 1 of his very first posts paid out $15,000 SBD. I suspect it is theses very astronomical pay-outs that is making the charting look off. (In my humble opinion.)

Ahh...very interesting, thank you!

You are most welcome @jonwilson!

I'm also new here and I dont understand a lot of things jet. Ihave read FAQs and all, but its really a lot to take in at once.
At the end of the day, there are only 2 options anyway: you can use steemit and hope for the best, or blog somewhere else - there you can be certain to get nothing.

I too would like to know, as in your example $165 per post to mathematics doesn't feel right.

Right? I even took a closer look at one of the tags, #parenting, which according to that calculation, has an average payout of $98. But when I looked at a bunch of posts with that tag, I don't think I could find a single one with a $98 or higher payout. Hmm??? Hopefully someone who knows the answer will see this post.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58613.96
ETH 3153.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43