You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: An open letter to folk griping about Steemit. Spammers, Upvote Rings, and Gripers (oh, my!) [Part 1]

in #steem-help7 years ago

Excellent post and points... and thanks (as well) for re-steeming my similar piece, the other day!

The point I keep stressing to those who complain is that Steemit not only didn't "hire" you as an employee and agree to pay you, nor are you a "contractor" promised compensation for publishing content. In fact, you were promised ABSOLUTELY NOTHING, aside from a place to park your content and the opportunity to earn a reward if sufficient consensus that your content were "reward worthy" exists.

Are there inequities and problems and issues to be addressed here? Abso-frakking-lutely... but let's call those issues what they really are; identify them properly.

I agree with @ausbitbank's assessment that there is going to be some turnover in the power elite... which is natural; in fact, I recall writing a bit about it, some months back, when @dan took his leave. Startup entrepreneurs and "seeders" are seldom around once an operation is up and running... they leave for new adventures and a group of 2nd generation power players fill their void and go about building on the existing foundation. It's like the Steve Jobs' of the world... they just want to "invent stuff" and care very little about the daily grind of turning their brilliant inventions into long-term gold.

Sort:  

I will be sure to add your link to my references and leave a more thoughtful comment tomorrow.

Thank You!

I have a lot of hope for this world. Steemit, and Crypto-currency is part of that for me. We'll ride it out. Regardless, the skills I'm developing here are useful. Which is really why I came here. To learn to write, and to write as well as I can.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58241.28
ETH 2648.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45