Tip For New Users Planning to Do an 'IntroduceYourself' Post

in #steem-help7 years ago (edited)

Include some kind of verification from the start!

If you do it straight away, one of the whales and orcas who peruse #introduceyourself may be able to upvote your post right away. This gives it a good chance of getting into the 'Hot' page, and from there it can gain momentum, giving you your first payout and your first followers.

If you don't verify your identity from the start, it may take some time for a member to verify you and the upvotes to start rolling in, and you may lose this chance at a running start!

How to Provide Verification

Here are a number of options from best to acceptable:

  1. The ideal verification is video footage. Mention your username, mention Steem, mention the date. Video is much harder to fake than alternatives! Remember to include it in the opening post!

  2. Link to your Steem profile using another established social media account. Include that link in your post from the start.

  3. A photo with your face, your username, the word 'Steemit' and the date. This isn't that hard to fake, but it tends to be 'good enough' most of the time.

Good luck starting your Steem journey!

Image from @frenkel's post, a good example of an introduction which is verifiable.

Important note: Just to be clear, you don't need to prove your identity at all, if you don't choose to reveal your identity. This post is only for those who choose to use their real life identity on Steemit.

And one final side note: Please don't overuse the 'introduceyourself' post. Generally you only need to introduce yourself once! Sometimes there may be a good reason to redo it, and that's ok, but many people are using the tag over and over.
Some even use it for totally unrelated posts. That's not really fair to other new users and it's not fair to those of us who are using the tag to find those new users.

Sort:  

Thanks for the post @demotruk. You are always out to help newbies. I have done my introduction, joined since February. Can I do a second introduction with video added?

I can only speak for myself, but I think of course you can, if you feel that it adds value over your original verification. In your case, I don't think anyone doubts that you are who you say you are, but it would add an extra degree of certainty.

Ok, Thanks. I guess the issue comes when you claim to be someone popular. Am I right?

The most famous example of the Steem community being fooled by catfish was @moonflower. She did include a verification photo, but it was someone hired on Fiverr.

Hummm! That's serious. Anyways, why would someone engage in identity theft? to gain more followers or more upvotes? because personally, I see no reason for that.

More upvotes, more money. Thousands of dollars in some cases. Some see Steemit as an easy source of money, they don't want to do the work of contributing value, they just want to take advantage in a low-effort way. Such is human nature, there are many thousands of people who have discovered Steemit, it only takes a few of them thinking of this way to undermine the network.

Also, not a Steem related issue (yet), but you can steal people's identity and social media profile in order to take out loans in their name, or even to spoof the bank and gain access to their bank accounts in some cases.

I see. Thanks for the info @demotruk

u are ibo from nigeria I guess

In theory an identity theft can happen to anyone, but in practice it usually seems to happen with famous people or people with very active/popular instagram accounts for example, because it means they can grab lots of photos to use as content for posts. It may also happen when someone is Facebook friends with that kind of person, since it means that we can't find the original photos via Google reverse image search. They also don't generally include the photo verification you did, although that has happened at least a few times.

Nice having you here @demotruk, looking forward to more of your post.

followed you.

Thanks for the advice. I've been working up to my introduction post for about a week now. Trying to find my writing voice and my perspective.

Great advices! Resteemed :)

PS: Can you imagine that I've never done an introduceyourself post since nobody told me to do so... Now it's a little late I guess :D

Thanks for the info, I wish i knew this earlier.

:)

yeah in my youtube videos I began to say - a big hug for my steemit viewers :) , thanks for sharing your post !!

These tips are very useful for new users in steemit. Unfortunately if they already know steemit but do not read these tips. Because recognition we know each other. Big posts
@demotruk

Some people will lurk for a while before their first post. Not sure how many people my post will help, but I decided to do it anyway.

You really care, it's like someone waiting for a guest. Good job and I really salute you

Thanks for the compliment :-)

Welcome my friend 😉

Good tips, @demotruk.... but in steemit if we not have many steem power, Our posts hard to be voted by steemians.

It's true. It's not easy to get followers and start being upvoted, especially without Steem Power. But it can be done, and I think my tip here can help.

thanks for the tips @demotruk.. I have done my introduction to steemit but as a niwbie I didn't know I have to verify myself..Is it acceptable to make a second proper introduction post?

Very good point. An introduce yourself post can really help people know you are a genuine user and vote for you. It gives you exposure which is what you need right at the beginning!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63407.49
ETH 2645.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81