You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: An open letter to folk griping about Steemit. Spammers, Upvote Rings, and Gripers (oh, my!) [Part 1]

in #steem-help7 years ago

Why I don't want to complain:

  • I'm here to share my passion, not to earn money
  • I'm here to get a habit of publishing more frequently with hope to reuse it reasembled as a complete content on my blog
  • I'm here to get to know people. There's @awesome-seven, there's @allaboutpastries, there's @noisy (fair enough, I've known him before)

Of course, it would be awesome to have a lot of Steem power, to be an influencer, to have a lot of publicity. And I understand, that some people come here only because they want to earn money. It is ok to do so. Complaining that one's content does not bring him wealth is like introducing a voluntary tax and complaining that people don't pay it. Make your content worth upvoting or change priorities. Or both.

Sort:  

You don't understand why people complain, it is not about "giff me money" it is about why shit posts get more money than other content that is bad, but at least not shit post?

This feels unfair and when it is unfair people become emotional and guess what they start to complain.

You ever seen someone complaining irl "omg I want all money in world for doing nothing?" but I am sure you've seen complain about people getting crazy money for little to none work.

I mean really when you spent time to write article and reward you get does not cover electricity spent while someone else makes shit post without any effort and makes more how can you not complain?


A side note, I would like to know why chose steemit if not for money, there is facebook where nearly everyone already has friends etc and other platforms so I am really interested why steemit then.

One explanation I can find is that people here try harder when they write articles.

Good point, I have not taken such approach into consideration. It changes nothing in my perspective, but at least I get to know a different point of view.
Why it changes nothing? When I was a kid, we had a currency of our own - pictures of cars from a particular bubble gum. Some were rare and worth more, some common and worth less. For now this is how I treat the reward for publishing my posts - something that has a value, but won't get me anything in the real world. If it changes - cool. If it does not - also cool.
In that case why Steemit:

  • I have a rather pricey hobby (you don't get 50kg flour a month for a smile) and I like sharing with others. It's already working
  • I am interested in blockchain and cryptocurrencies for technical reasons and want to get some practical experience on the subject.

From the registration I remember two things:

  • remember your password
  • don't expect to earn anything
    So I don't.

OF COURSE IT"S ABOUT THE MONEY - but for many of us it's about the money we really don't have but want to support certain people or specific content in a genuine and practical way.
I've already attracted an actual world-renowned author, composer, and musical director ( @somtow ) to sign up here- (and I'm absolutely nobody in the world, just a friend who admires his work) because the many, many hours of wonderful content he's GIVEN (in the sense of posting to FB, and YT, etc.) to the world has been almost exclusively monetized by others, and practically not a bit for him. So far, it's only been a few dollars on Steemit- but it could grow to the level of being a major supporter for his work (and it's powerfully positive work he's been doing for decades now).

the monetary incentive definitely drives me to write better and more. More than... I wasn't writing at all before I came here

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58470.94
ETH 2653.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43