You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The New '5 Vote Target' does NOT Reduce Rewards - It Democratises Steemit Curation!!

in #steem-help8 years ago (edited)

I dont know if I agree. My user retention is seriously under threat. It was worthwhile to me previously when I made a couple of hundred dollars for a post. I put in a lot of hours to research content and write and edit over and over and then find and edit the right pics. I work darn hard to produce a top notch article only to have it now pay me $10 for my efforts compared to what I consider decent value/return. A whale would vote for me and push it into the hundreds previously. That same whale only pushes me to $30 if I'm lucky now becasue they are voting at 10-20%. I too vote at this level - but usually 33% - perhaps in error. It just doesn't seem worth my time anymore to write or curate - sad to say. I do want to though but will become more disallusioned if this continues.
Steemit, on the current model, are going to lose a lot of good writers who deserve to be paid a decent commercial return for their time and craft.
Wishing you well. Wishing you all well.
Cheers
@Booky

Sort:  

Thanks for your post @booky

We need to get a large user base in order to have longevity. I personally believe that, distributing rewards is the best way to get an engaged community, and to have the meritocracy Steemit we all want. A few users taking all the author rewards won't help us moving forward.

The Steemit system is set up in such a way that rewards are bound to drop, and keep dropping. As the user base swells, the rewards will likely not increase at that same rate. Someday in the not too distant future, I expect to see trending posts with <$100 rewards...

Much of your drop in rewards are likely down to the fall in Steem Market Cap, rather than the new voting mechanism which was brought out 3 days ago...

Steemit, on the current model, are going to lose a lot of good writers who deserve to be paid a decent commercial return for their time and craft.

Can you tell me anywhere where writers get paid three figures for an article? Go to freelancer or other sites - it's $1 an article. So all those people makinhg $30 will still stay because it's still way more than they would have got elsewhere.

IMHO, you should focus on voting for people you like at full power. at your current vesting level, voting 33% as whales do is almost pointless. If the percentage you chose doesn't even give a cent, what's the point?
Until the new rules I will mostly vote 100% on posts and a percentage on comments.

This is correct. Always vote at 100%, and never let your voting power recharge all the way back to 100.

You should always vote at 100%. Whales shouldn't. When the new change comes in, people's votes will be 8 times more powerful than before.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60265.23
ETH 2324.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55