Steemd config.ini settings to reduce memory usage of full node

in #steem-help7 years ago

I'm running a full node for my voting application and it's using a truly hideous amount of memory. Can this be reduced?

I have the full node only so I can look up account history (curation rewards, transfers, etc) for a handful of accounts. There are two lines in config.ini that I'm particularly interested in:

track-account-range =

and

account-stats-tracked-account = []

What do those do, how do they work, has anybody changed them from their default settings? They feel like they're the solution to my problem.

Sort:  

Yep, it sure can.

track-account-range = ["jesta","biophil"]

I believe this sets the node to only track these two accounts history. I'm not sure of the exact details, but I have a node running with these settings:

shared-file-dir = /dev/shm/
shared-file-size = 20G
public-api = database_api login_api account_by_key_api network_broadcast_api
enable-plugin = witness account_history account_by_key
track-account-range = ["jesta"]

and the node is only consuming ~16gb of ram/space (instead of like 50+).

I'm not sure what account-stats-tracked-account does. Might have to go look that up.

Edit - Went and searched the code base for account-stats-tracked-account, couldn't find anything about it. Maybe it's a legacy thing that got removed?

Worked like a charm!

Sweet! I'll give it a shot.

@jesta, can you please share here your full config.ini file please? Thanks!

That was cool. I just got to reward a solid question that got a solid answer! (I also learned a bit.)

Solid community.

Yep. Steem is pretty neat.

Aaahhhhhh . . . it's alright I guess . . .

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63626.66
ETH 2640.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.75