You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: ❓Answering Common Questions: What should I Know when I Start Trading Cryptocurrency? 💱

in #steem-help7 years ago

Ye and really really emphasize on not making emotional decisions. That's key point to trading and it's always so hard for me to stick to this rule.

Sort:  

I know I lost money learning that aspect to it. Funny how it's completely backwards from what you really want to do (most the time.)

And that's why I couldn't invest larger sums in crypto, at least now while this market is so unstable. I am checking coinmarketcap even now All The Time even with my small amount in crypto. If I had larger sum I wouldn't be able to sleep at night!

For me it helps that all the money I'm trading with came from Steemit post earnings. I will admit that I got lucky getting in at a great time and not even really knowing it.

I tried the short term trading, but reached my limit both on the stress and the time commitment of wanting to be at the computer all the time. For a long while now I've enjoyed holding for longer periods of time across a handful of coins. Periodically I cash some out after have fantastic gains, sometimes moving to other coins, more often my fiat bank, and I've recently gotten interested in potentially putting some into gold.

While I get how people view a drop in their holdings value as 'I lost money', I tend to keep the focus that I paid in nothing originally and/or what my total gains were from when I bought in. Takes a lot of the stress off me to make calm, rational decisions. (just like when I play poker, lol)

Oh it must help with stress if all you invest comes only from Steemit. Who knows, maybe I'll be able to say the same in a year or so ;) cheers!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61451.56
ETH 3442.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51