Steem-gardening: Winter Flowering Heathers On A Frosty Morning Will Take Your Breath Away.

You'll be surprised at their beauty and brilliance under a Winter Sun.

All heathers seem to be an answer to all gardeners prayers, as they are evergreen, look good all year round, will grow anywhere and need very little TLC.

At this time to year heathers are hugely useful and are they are used to an array of soils from alkaline to chalky.

The winter flowering heathers are varieties Erica cornea and E. xdarleyensis. Look out for them at your local nursery or garden centre, and plant them at the front of your beds or borders in gaps that could do with filling.

They will tolerate a certain amount of shade, but are happiest in full sun with a well drained soil with some compost to allow them to get back to their favourite boggy roots.

They can be lightly clipped once all the blooms have faded, and this will encourage them to remain thick and produce more shoots again next Winter.

Try to plant them 6 to 8 inches apart, and fill in the gaps between them with crocuses.

Come the Summer as all your flowers start to fade they will slip into the shadows, and to take their place in the spotlight once more will be your lovely heathers.

Happy gardening my fellow Steemians!

@heatherhunter aka @mindhunter

Sort:  

Oh...so much color...my goodness ...my eyes...Ha ha I love it @mindhunter.
I finished preparing my garden for the winter and it was a blast...all my bones hurt now...ha ha... but what to do in the spring will come the rebirth of nature and it will be beautifull all around us.

I do love muscle aches from gardening - a sign of a day well lived :)

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the second half of Nov 15. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $6.34 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Nov 15 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Bravo! My friend @mindhunter, congratulations on the discovery of this marvel, beautiful images, thanks for sharing

Heather is indeed a good, good thing!

I love non poacaea ground covers of all kinds, and I love the name Heather and I like Heathens...

Hi @l0k1, thanks for passing by. As a lowlander Scot, I'm a BIG fan of any heathers or heathens!

I have quite fond memories of a certain Heather in particular. Come to think of it one of the three in the category "broke up for practical reasons not from disharmony".... I had not thought much of her since then. Always nice to have a happy remembering.

You can only chase a butterfly for so long across the heather ;)

As a wild Scot, I'm a BIG fan of any colourful heather!

Just gotta watch for thistles! OUCH!!

Now that would be a funny post lol

I could see that post getting 1 million up-votes! Ha ha!

Maybe more if you have pictures lol

MASS swellage on the WRONG kind! ;)

Being a Scot that is an EXCELLENT user name for me @thecentreofitall!

That great flower of Scotland :-)

Indeed, it is thought to be lucky by all Scottish brides at their wedding :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63657.90
ETH 2656.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.84