Can someone help me with Steem API calls in Python?

in #steem-dev7 years ago (edited)

Hello developers,

I have some features that I want to add to my OSX toolbar STEEM price ticker, steemticker-osx. I hope to utilize the Steem API to achieve the addition of these features to my application.

The first thing that I want to do is allow a user to have the ability to input their account name, and have their balances in SBD, STEEM and STEEM POWER fetched. I would use this data to display the value of their portfolio in BTC or the fiat currency that they select. This is a feature I would like to add as a user would no longer have to update their portfolio settings every time their STEEM balance changes.

I looked at the documentation at steem.readthedocs.io but could not find what I was looking for, perhaps because it isn't there but more likely because I scrolled right past it and missed it. If someone could let me know if what I'm looking to do is achievable and if so, how to do it, that would be incredible. Thank you STEEM developers.

I hope that this project is useful to you. I am completely open to pull requests if anyone wants to contribute.

If you find this useful or helpful to you, please apply an upvote so all of the steemit community can see and use this project! I don't have a huge following on steemit, so I need your help with spreading this project to all who can be helped by it.

This project was created using python3 and it is licensed under the MIT License.

https://github.com/ZachC16/steemticker-osx

Sort:  

Are you using the python-steem library? If so, it's as simple as:

from steem.account import Account
account = Account('zcgolf16')
print(account)

Need to make the code formatting here much nicer :)

Edit - there we go. Darker squared background to really highlight code samples.

I figured out how to do it a different way but thank you, @jesta! It's really awesome to be in a community where the dev of the biggest projects here is willing to help out a small programmer like me. What I am curious about is how do you get a darker background around code? Thanks!

You've probably gotta give the page a refresh to get the CSS changes to show. I don't know that any sort of CSS cache-busting is in place within chainBB just yet.

And of course! Glad to help when I find the time. After almost a year of being on steemit I'm glad I can find people's questions :)

#steemdev ftw!

You can connect to wss://steemd.steemit.com through websocket and work with the API directly. If you don't know about the protocol just open steemit and watch your websocket connections (in chrome console network tab) and see how the operations are being sent and receive.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64006.33
ETH 3077.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87