Prettier codesteemCreated with Sketch.

in #steem-dev7 years ago

Just a little recommendation for all the JavaScript developers here.

Use prettier for formatting your JS files!

While browsing repos from steem developers during my research I figured that everyone uses very different formatting rules or even none. This is not an issue as long as you work alone on your projects.
If there is more than one contributor to a project, exchanging formatting rules etc. can become a nightmare.

prettier is an opinionated formatter with a great default style. We use it exclusively at my company. Makes life much easier.
It can also be customized, but then that has to be exchanged too. The default is good enough.

prettier formats all kinds of js and css file type: JavaScript (incl. ES2017), JSX, Flow, TypeScript, CSS, LESS, SCSS

Check it out. Just install: yarn global add prettier or npm i -g prettier.

Steem on..

Sort:  

Thanks for this! I'm a full-stack dev, but my strengths are unquestionably in back-end development. Always happy to get good tips for front-end things and especially JavaScript because I'm currently trying to improve at it :)

Great. There are a lot of projects in progress for streem. If you'rr interested in contributing and increasing you skills, let me know.

Great thx! Time is one of my more limited resources, but I'm very curious about everything that's going on, so I'll keep an eye out!

I understand that. Same for me.
Keep an eye on Steem Docs. I just started that 2 days ago..

I hope concerned people take notice. You may try mentioning the developers after finding their accouts.

Good remark. This raises the idea of putting all active developers and their skills/projects into [Steem Docs](https://www.steemdocs
com)..

Glad to assist in some way. :)

Help is always welcome..
Just saw your latest post about steem. May I use some of it for Steem Docs? With credits 😉

Sure, why not. If you could resteem it, I'd be grateful. :)

Thx. Will do..

Thanks for this. Only JS I have done has been self taught so I'm sure my code looks like crap. Resteemed. Cheers mate!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 62204.66
ETH 2437.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64