You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Steem Debate (Get Paid For Your Opinion) Round #6 Results And Round #7 Topic

in #steem-debate6 years ago

I am against this statement
Reason 1. It's too general. Logically, it can be disproven with just one counterexample, i.e. Because I watched True Blood and Buffy the Vampire Slayer, I was inspired to write Gentle Werewolf, which has led to wonderful things for me.
Reason 2. It uses an ad hominem attack. Regardless of whether it is a waste of time, I would never label someone stupid. I don't know their reasons!
Reason 3. Some people suffer from mental and/or physical ailments that prevent them from certain activities. If they get pleasure from TV, it's certainly not a stupid waste of time.
Reason 4. We're always learning, whether we intend to be or not. TV might have an ill effect on the psyche, but that doesn't make it a waste of time. If someone goes into a room good and comes out of the room evil, we would give the thing that happened in that room a negative label, but not "waste of time"
Reason 5. Time cannot be wasted. It is used. It also cannot be saved. It is always used. It's not like I can rummage through the time wastebin and collect the time other people have thrown away. Nope, they used it. Used it all up! I need MORE.
Reason 6. We're all addicted to time. If watching TV helps people kick their habit, more power to them.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.028
BTC 60580.16
ETH 2342.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47