How to Draw the Head for Newbies

in #steem-cartoon7 years ago (edited)

tutor.jpg
Hello guys!
This is Shafiq,

Today I want to give a free lesson about "How to Draw Head" in cartoon or anime style.
For this lesson, I am using Wacom tablet and also Sai Tool to draw but you also can used a pencil and a piece of paper for this learning session.
1.jpg
First, draw a circle, don't take much time for this first step, just draw it, if it look like a circle, then you done, you don't even need to draw a perfect and precise circle, OK?

Then, you need to draw a cross just like the picture shows.

Circle and cross are used as your guideline for you to determine the position of eye, nose, mouth, and also cheek.
2.jpg
Once you done with circle and cross, you can start drawing a cheek for your character, start from top to bottom, create a nice curve. Follow the arrow that I have put as your guideline.

Then, repeat the same step for the opposite side. BUT, if you are using Pain Tool Sai or Photoshop, you can easily duplicate and flip horizontal the cheek.
3.jpg

And now, you can start drawing an eye for your character. Start it with a line for your upper eyelashes. Then, a circle and also another eyelashes below the circle.

Repeat the same step for the opposite side.

4.jpg

Now draw nose and mouth. You also can custom any shape or type of nose and mouth for your character. It's up of your creativity and imagination.

5.jpg

Now you can refine your eye by adding shadow and pupil. And also, put you character EYEBROW.

7.jpg

Draw simple ear shape. Then repeat at the opposite side.

6.jpg

Now, the hardest part to draw is hair. But actually, it is not really that hard. For drawing HAIR, you are free to draw, which I mean, you just need to follow the flow of the hair, as you can see, my character hair is started from the above then it go down. So just randomly draw it until it forms shape of hair. If you keep failing to draw a nice hair, don't give up, just keep practice until you understand the flow of the hair.

Another tip is imagine a waterfall, flow from the above to bottom. Draw the line of the waterfall, and you will see it.

8.jpg

Now proceed with neck with simple line.

9.jpg

Now put simple cloth for your character if you want.

After you are done with this tutorial, you can start by drawing your own original character, with different eye shape, different hair style and also different cloth.

After you finished drawing your character, don't ever forget to put your watermark or signature. Then show it to your parent, tell them that at least you are capable to do something.
output_l3OgHr.gif

Hey, Thanks for reading! I hope this simple tutorial can guide you to draw.
If this post get Upvotes, I will continue the next lesson with side angle and 3/4 angle (head).

Thanks again!

Sort:  

Congratulations @zhafiqkun! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Thanks for the tutorial! Do continue with the next lesson. Will definitely try to draw an anime one day :D

Hey thanks! Yes, I will continue the next lesson on this Thursday.. maybe?

Nuce tutorial! I would recommend you to use the tag "drawing" instead of "steemitblogger" and maybe "art" instead of "steemiteducation" n.n or whatever xD
I will follow you, I like your style!

Oh, about the tags, it was a suggestion from my friend, he said, the tag will help me to get upvote, so if you are noticed, I have about two same post, the first one, I mistakenly put steam-cartoon tag instead steem-cartoon, so I have misspelled, I try to change the tag and also try to delete the post, but steemit would not allow me to that, so end up having to post because of my silly mistake. ugh..

Oh! But steemit blogger is so generic, it is better to be accurate n.n

Yeah, you're right, I'll do that soon haha

Thanks for sharing ..love your drawing prowess keep it up.

Your explanation is really easy to follow @zhafiqkun. Thanks for sharing.

Yeah thanks, I just want to help people to draw and that's it.

It's all about the fundamentals!

I can tell you have done this a lot. Very fluid.

very much as I can say. :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63209.62
ETH 2570.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.76