HOW IT ALL STARTED: MY ART JOURNEY (A blessing in disguise)

in #steem-cartoon7 years ago

Hello everyone. I'm new here so I'm still figuring this thing out. Anyway, I'm usually known as 'SKD_artz' and I just finished high school :). So this is the story of how it all started. Cue the dramatic background music.
Haha actually, this is the story of how...How... HOW I GOT INTO ART!

Okay so when I was little, I liked drawing but it was only just a hobby. I always wanted to be a doctor. Or a scientist. Or even an architect for that matter. But mostly a doctor haha.
But then, it all changes.
It's basically a MAJOR turning point in my life!
Ok so actually when I was born, I was diagnosed with a medical condition called Scoliosis. Scoliosis is a medical condition in which a person's spine has a sideways curve. So, I went to the doctor pretty much a lot of times. My condition wasn't that bad in the beginning but when I was fourteen, it got a bit worse. I was unable to go to school for almost a WHOLE YEAR when I was fourteen! So, I tend to draw a lot during that load of free time. Out of boredom, I'd always draw. Draw, draw and draw.
I'd always draw anything that I like. Well, mainly humans. I like to draw humans. Specifically, a portrait :)
So, this is one of the first drawings that I've made and it was on 7th June 2014.

chloe moretz.JPG

I was pretty proud of this drawing like you don't even know man.

You know, that year I was a little bit sad because I can't go to school like other kids. I kept asking my parents when I can go back to school even. That year, I was in a lot of pain. It was a really bad time for me because of my health. I sometimes do wonder why it happens to me, why I was born like this. When I think about it, I'd always tried seeing the good in everything bad. I'd like to think that if it wasn't for that, I'd probably wouldn't develop an interest towards improving my skills in drawing and painting. During that year I kept on drawing to kill time, to avoid boredom, to fill up my days. I never took drawing seriously, at first.
As the time flies, I suddenly realized that I really love drawing and became more passionate about it. This results in my dreams to became a doctor slowly vanishing while another dream crept in slowly. Eventually, I decided that I wanted to draw my whole life and became an artist somehow. This event was truly a blessing in disguise for me.

After years of practice with different types of medium, here's my art progress! :D

Graphite Pencil

collage1.jpg

left: 23/6/14 VS right: 13/7/15

White Charcoal

collage6.jpg

left: 30/3/15 VS right: 21/7/15

Black Charcoal

collage2.jpg

left: 1/7/15 VS right: 19/1/18

Watercolour

collage4.jpg

left: 16/9/14 VS right: 12/5/17

Acrylic

collage5.jpg

left: 22/10/15 VS right: 17/6/17

Oil

collage7.jpg

left: 23/11/15 VS right: 13/12/17

Digital Painting

collage8.jpg

left: 3/2/15 VS middle: 29/11/16 VS right: 24/1/18

I actually do a lot of mixed media :)
To see more, follow my Instagram and Youtube channel!

Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/skd_artz/
Youtube: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UC8ELvme54MshfFNsUV6f6Vg

Sort:  

Keep up the good work, your talent will develop. I am a musician and it was the same for me. I keep my eyes peeled crazy eye.gif

Oh my god, thank you very much for this comment :') I really really appreciate it! It really made my day :'D!

Holy. I wish my upvote was worth more.... I just started my journey of drawing... I have lots of practicing to do. I am currently studying lips.

THANK YOU!That's totally fine huhu seeing your comment here is already enough for me, I'm also still practicing too!

I guess you really never stop practicing!

very nice works @ skdartz ..I voted..I admire artist with charcoal :) I'm not that patience :)

Thank you so much!!I am very much still figuring out charcoals tbh haha

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60147.92
ETH 2613.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55