Steem Cartoon : The Curry Puff Boy

in #steem-cartoon6 years ago (edited)

CBoy_01_Cover.jpg

I was having my late lunch somewhere near my office one day and the shouts of a boy caught my attention.

CBoy_02.jpg

Looks like he is selling curry puffs. Curry puffs is a local Malay delicacy that one would usually take for tea. The boy is probably about 10 years old. Bright eyed and spirited. He looks like he is an optimistic dude.

CBoy_03.jpg

He approached me and wanted to sell me the savory. I was busy eating, so I told him to return once I am done.

CBoy_04.jpg

He was approaching other tables and he wasn't doing that well. Not many people is buying curry puffs from him. The reason is obvious. He is selling it where the people are already there having their food. Unlikely that they will have more space in their stomach to eat the extra.

CBoy_05.jpg

Return he did. This boy is persistent. I was quite full. Couldn't cramp in any extra and I told him that.

CBoy_06.jpg

Instead of turning back feeling rejected, he suggested that I buy for my family or my girlfriend. Wait a minute...how he knows I have a girlfriend? Nah, I don't! Just pulling your legs ya...

I thought to myself, this boy is pretty has some wits. He is fast in his brain.

CBoy_07.jpg

I felt bad. I gave him Ringgit Malaysia 5. He gleefully took it. It is not much. Proabably worth slightly lesser than 1 SBD. But he was grateful.

CBoy_08.jpg

He thank me and he left.

CBoy_09.jpg

I was walking to my car and I noticed that the curry puff boy is handing the money I gave him to a woman with a child seated around the corner. Its quite obvious that the lady couldn't leave that baby alone. I was thinking to myself, this boy is breaking his back and sweat to make a few bucks and he just gave away what could have been his lunch money. The worst part is, he is hardly selling any curry puffs.

CBoy_10.jpg

I decided I gotta approach this boy. I did. He thought I was back for more.

CBoy_11.jpg

I needed to satisfy my curiosity. I asked him why he gave away the money he so painstakingly worked for. He told me...

CBoy_12.jpg

'Well sir, I have roof over my head, clothes to cover my skin from the sun and the cold, I have food on my table. I am already blessed. My mom taught me that donation is for people that is unable to work. I am not eligible because I have able hands and legs. That lady with the baby needs it more than me because she is unable to work and she is more deserving of your donation, sir.'

I did the only thing a self respecting man would do. I shed a teardrop. I wasn't weeping...I merely shed a teardrop. Took out my wallet and bought the remaining. Let's say I made a RICH boy RICHER!

CBoy_13.jpg



credit to @zomagic

Sort:  

Really good story mate.

Nice story, I like your art style too. good stuff.
Upvoted and followed🙂

Super inspiring story, this would make a good addition to a series of comics called curry puff for the soul (chicken soup for the soul series)

Hehe... great idea!

Suatu cerita yang sangat menarik

Awesome illustration, great effort and you made the boy's day!

Thank you @fre3ze ... glad u drop by and reading the post. Cheers!

Great story.. especially relevant to our materialistic society. Nice comic as always:)

Thank You @orangila ... you're such a supporting steemian as always. Great to have you around.

You are most welcome bro~!! You're the best

Luar biasa
Saya suka ceritanya.
Menarik dan bermakna.

Terima kasih.

hey awesome story , was it real ? or a story of your imaginations,
your illustration is lovely , and more because its look like yourself , cheers sireh :D

It is based on the real event. Of course, the story was simplified to make it more meaningful. The boy selling the curry puff is a real person. :)

nice,,real life full of stories................. he have a big heart , god bless him , :) <3

I really enjoyed the story and illustrations. Great work! Way to spread a positive message! Definitely worth a re-steem, follow, and upvote. Glad I stumbled on it. Out of curiosity, what's your illustration process? Are you old school pencil/paper? Or are you using an iPad app?

Thank you! glad u enjoy the story.

I'm using mix methods. Combining old school inking on paper, readjust and touching it up using photoshop. I'm in love with both media. :)

wow i love cartoon and most like doreamon cartoon thanks for sharing

Haha... me too...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54180.99
ETH 2273.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35