Steem Cartoon : My Teaching Routine

in #steem-cartoon6 years ago

COVER.jpg

My Everyday Life


Back in the days when I started drawing, we depend a lot on our own experiences and there is no structured system of producing our art. So you get a wide range of methods and styles which makes old cartoon and comics really interesting. But these days, the creative content producers are mostly graduates with proper technical background in drawing and their work is equally impressive but the most important part of it all is always finding that particular identity that is specific to that artist.

LD01.jpg

The use of referencing and human anatomy is important to any artist. Not everyone can recreate a piece entirely from imagination.

LD02.jpg

I usually ask my students to model a few position to ensure that the drawing of the artist if limited by imagination is not handicapped when they can see for themselves the human anatomy and the natural movement of the human body.

LD03.jpg

Some are really concentrating and some are pretending to concentrate. After a while as a lecturer you would be able to spot the ones who are not.

LD04.jpg

LD5.jpg

LD5a.jpg

I will usually ask them to place their work on the floor where I will have a good overview of their work and I will pick the ones that I think requires some comments or praise. I prefer praising my students over making them feel bad. Nothing is a better motivator than good praises.

LD06.jpg

To prove my point this is the picture after I praised them, they work harder...(*snicker *snicker)

LD07.jpg

Students using reference images when sketching a portrait.

LD08.jpg

Nothing beats a life projection of the drawing process. Fortunately I can draw a big to save my skin. Otherwise my students will say I am an armchair critic.

LD09.jpg

So here you go...a day in the life of an art lecturer in a public university

@sireh


APP.png


credit to @zomagic

Sort:  

I enjoyed the moment i was reading this post ,feel like i was in your class too , even short time ,,
i like pictures :-) <3

Thanks @adelepazani ... as matter of fact... you reminded me of one of my best x-students... she is from Iran... Pretty and very talented... wish I have many students like you, and my job will be much easier... hahaha...

Really? :-)
She was lucky ,
With a great master like you ,your students will work nicely , i see you love your job so much and i like this , :-)

Thanks for the nice word @adelepazani ...
If you come to Malaysia, love to have a coffee, chatting about the art scene and bring you around visiting our Visual Art Gallery... :)

That would be a great time . :-) who knows maybe someday i will have the chance to visit the beautiful Malaysia , and your gallery , ... <3

yaa... who knows... hahaha...
Hopefully one day u become a whale and traveling around sharing your success story...
We will welcome you and bring you around meet other steemians...
cheers!

best line from article is ''Nothing beats a life projection of the drawing process'' awesome blog.

Thanks... its good to show a demo... its time to show off our skill... hahaha

I appreciate the art, and artists, is something magic that blows through your mind and flow to your hands to create a masterpiece

Tqvm... for some artist, an appreciation is much valuable than the money... people like u motivates us to create more wonderful arts...

@sireh hello there!!! I was at the steem meetup today and I didn't get to talk to you 'cause we were both busy and I had to go too soon! I'm connecting with you first and hopefully we will catch up with each other soon in other steemit events. Keep it up :)

Hi Debbie @deborism ... yes, I wish I had time to talk to everyone... love to have a chat with you next time... once the post about our meet up ready please let me know which one are you... (afraid if I'm mistaken you with someone else...met so many great people today)... I'm a visual person, not good at remembering names but once I know the face... the bonding will be greater... hey! thanks for the connecting. Visited your blog and its awesome...

Thanks @sireh not as awesome as yours but thanks for the compliment anyway:) I'll be looking forward to the next meetup for the artists and hope to pay your initiative a visit! I'll also be shouting out a couple of Steemians' names in tomorrow's posting so maybe you'll get some idea :D JOMZ, let's catch up the next meetup so keep in touch! :D

Awesome is subjective... I'm lucky to have so many talented people around me... also got a friend who helps me in my writings... we support each other... steemit open up a bigger collaboration scale at no cost... your poems and writings are great... my compliment is honest... enjoy reading it... :) all the best to you... keep in touch.

Looking at this as a 2nd year student... Jeez the sufferings, memories and nostalgia...UwU

Hahaha... welcome to AFX... enjoy the suffering and make it fun... thats how it goes...

thank you very much, sir for the 'suffering', memories and knowledge during AFX 1. It was quite a ride and fun... ^^

What an awesome job you have! Malaysia is blessed to have you! :)

Enjoy it every moment... Thank you!
wish u are blessed and fill your life with happiness too...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64136.70
ETH 3128.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94