Steem Cartoon : Making it Matter

in #steem-cartoon6 years ago (edited)

a01Cover.jpg
(about more than half has left the hall when this picture was taken)

The recent event in the National Museum in my humble opinion was quite a success. I was hopeful that I am able to send the message across to my fellow cartoonists and comic artists and the feedback that I received was quite encouraging. Many has signed up and we are just waiting for them to start posting before guiding them further.

a01poster.jpg

I started my day in the Museum with an interview with a local production company for a documentary on the cartoon industry in Malaysia. This is not a common topic for a documentary and I was quite lucky to be able to say my part.

a02.jpg

I believe that at this point if there is one common grievance that we all share is the change in technology has also almost killed off this industry. Those people that are so used to the printed media is finding it difficult to adapt but as the saying goes, 'time and tide waits for no man' and it is indeed true in our industry.

a04.jpg

Our event kicked off in the afternoon and I did my caricature, which is one the skills that I picked in New Zealand when I was doing my undergraduate in order to make ends meet. My days as an artist has always been a struggle even back in the days when I was still learning.

a04a.jpg

a04b.jpg

A member of the audience was nominated by the crowd and he became my subject.

a05.jpg

4 artists from #steem-music, another initiative in community building gave their performances that day and they are @papisaxy, @zhusatriani, @muslyramlee and @zulkiflisaadan. The crowd were treated to wonderful music before the speech took place. The real reason behind the caricature and music performance was to capture the creative process and reproduce it as a posting in our respective accounts to show the audiences the legitimacy and the simplicity in the entire process.

a07.jpg

@abgmie, a veteran in this industry was no less delightful and candid in his introduction to steemit and some sharing of experience as someone who has little knowledge about the computer and how he manage to post and make some money in the process.

a08.jpg

@bitrocker2020 took the mike and explain how #teammalaysia as a community is important in helping the individuals that has started their journey in Steemit achieve their goals by giving them the support when necessary.

a09.jpg

Then it was my turn to deliver my part. My delivery was factual. I presented a chronology of the changes in the cartoon industry from the pre World War II era till today. There were statistics given on how #steem-cartoon has progressed and the income that this community has derived. This is part of my research thesis. Steemit came at the right time, not only it introduced me to new friends, helped me earned money but it has also given me a new approach in my paper on the changing media and it influences the industry.

a10.jpg

My good friend @perennial making his speech and he didn't have any problem addressing the crowd and answering their question as a person who has been involved in the legal fraternity and as someone who has been litigating in the courts for financial institutions. He answered questions on the legality of the blockchain and even tackled issues on the Intellectual rights to the creative contents.

a13.jpg
(the hall just before the session went into full swing)

I receive many positive feedback and I am glad that I manage to deliver what I set out to deliver. I hope with this small effort at least we are able to see a bit of light at the end of the tunnel.



credit to @zomagic

Sort:  

Thank you Sireh for sharing this opportunity to the cartoonists and comic artists. I really appreciate the initiative you made to help the community.

Welcome, Wak @manaisarawak ... glad you joined us... experiencing this platform and evaluate it yourself... for me... I'm having fun doing it and I want to see all the hard earnt effort from our community being fairly rewarded. The more people joining ... the merrier...

thank you so much @sireh for all your effort in orgarnisng and pushing steemit to the next level,am also planning to do the same thing in my country,,,per now have signed up like 56 new members..

Thank You, Mr. @jordanlove ... it's a team effort, big thanks to my best buddy Mr @perennial and our #teammalaysia Big bro Mr. @bitrocker2020... We are so fortunate to have them guiding us along the way...

Yes... It's going to be a struggle and challenging at the start... once you get the momentum going, Its worth the struggle and fun watching the team grow...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65248.25
ETH 3471.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51