Steem Cartoon : D Day

in #steem-cartoon7 years ago (edited)

01Cover.jpg

Yesterday was the day, not sure if I did well. It was my presentation of the student's comic project that I had headed. It has been a few months of hard work and we did get great contents. Many of these students are also in steemit and that was why I have facts and figures to help me convince the panel that our team and project is deserving of getting funding for our work.

02P.jpg

What is EDC


You will notice that EDC features prominently in the pictures and EDC stand for Entrepreneurship Development Centre and has its allocation that is up for grabs by the deserving projects. There are other works which are equally compelling in content but I think our team has a slight edge because we are quite up to date with our approach and we are the only team that incorporated our outreach to the blockchain.

The funds by Entrepreneurship Development Fund is by the University to encourage progress through entrepreneurship and shortlisted projects are put through scrutiny by members of the panel that consists of professors, doctors, academicians and researchers.

03P.jpg

The presentation kicked out with me telling them of our mission and how our group is formed and our 'product'. I had the benefit of having a visual 'product' which can be immediately gauged and valued. That has always been the advantage. Although beauty is in the eyes of the beholder, what is perceived as good work with reasonable effort can immediately be identified without much hassle unlike other forms of 'product'. There is also very little reading involved. Everything is through the eyes.

04P.jpg

How was the Market Response Survey


One of the question that was posed to me was whether for me to incur expenses in pushing the comic products to the masses, if I had the figures to back my proposal in terms of public acceptance. I knew that would come. There is no better platform to gauge the public approval or disapproval of something other than through the social media where everyone is vocal and ciritical. I manage to dig some data from the postings through steemit and that really helped me squirm through the tricky part.

I can see the panel was quite intrigued and impressed at the same time. So impressed that they did not need any break during my entire presentation. Many questions were thrown at me and I have to carefully answer those questions and it wasn't tough because the marketing outreach and target audience has been identified.

05P.jpg

Attentive Crowd


The panel has to sit through a few presentation during that day and it may range from projects with are heavy on data and livelier subject like mine which are based on visuals. So our work was able to get more attention because nothing is boring and nothing is not colourful.

I may not be a presenter but usually when it is the passion of mine, I speak like Zig Ziglar on stage, with the exception I am way younger. But it is not a difficult task because the panel members are quite friends and receptive. If I have the extra time and to gain some brownie points, I should have drawn them some caricatures.

06P.jpg

The entire presentation was video recorded for housekeeping purposes. It is also a good idea because the University keeps and archive of our ideas, pitching and also expenses.

07P.jpg

I am wearing the steemit T-shirt and that did raise some questions which I gladly answer. I did borrow some facts from @perennial on how our effort has been made considerably easier and cheaper though the blockchain. There was a joke by one of the respected member of the panel that he should try blogging since it is a paid hobby now. Afterall, he is in Facebook quite often and it returns no income.
,
08P.jpg

Together with me also presenting their project are 3 fellow steemians and also my students are @hanbun, @nanawawa and @cikpahcomel.

Conclusion


I am not sure if I aced in the delivery but one thing I know, we gave our best foot forward and we can only hope for the best. The blockchain part was a timely rescue because it made our figures convincing and we actually have a platform apart from the printed media in the delivery of our work, progress and comments.

I pen off here. Time to take a rest after 4 painstaking days of preparing for the final pitch. Keeping fingers crossed.



credit to @zomagic

Sort:  

Congrats bro :)
So poison more kaki conteng masuk steem-cartoon dan conteng2 beramai2 hahahah

haha... Thank You!...Yesss! come and join us... the more the merrier... :)

Great initiative.... I am sure your students and community will benefit from the EDC programme.

Thank You @orangila (haha... felt like saying thank you to a crazy man)
I'm sure they will... we are trying to penetrate both platforms...
Then next plan is to do a comparative analysis study for academia...

I love it when people always giggle about my name.. some how, please feel that it is impolite to call me by my Steem ID name but I love it...

Hi @sireh nice meeting you!

haha... yup! you too...

Good job bang sireh.. nice shirt btw.. hehehe

You’ve been upvoted by TeamMalaysia Community :-

To support the growth of TeamMalaysia Follow our upvotes by using steemauto.com and follow trail of @myach

Vote TeamMalaysia witness bitrocker2020 using this link vote for witness

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 63064.93
ETH 2468.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55