Steem Cartoon : A Boy in a Candy Store

01.jpg

Saturday 12 pm. Its 2 days before 2018. It is also a historic day for me. I am going on the Mass Rapid Transit (MRT) for the first time. Today is the first time I am in the National Museum and also the first time I am meeting my cartoonist idols. First and foremost, I am there to meet @sireh. In all honesty, I am pretty excited to meet them. I have been growing up with their work since school days. When I arrived at the museum, I was greeted by the display of the local cartoon charaters such as Professor Know it All, Keluangman and others.

02.jpg

It really felt like a time portal where I was brought back to my younger days. I am like Marty McFly from the movie Back to the Future. The only difference was I was not in the famous De Lorean. The journey started right from the main entrance. There were covers of many cartoon magazines that used to grace the cartoon world that I was in. I went through them one by one. I can say that almost 90% of the magazines that was displayed, I have read it before. There are still kept in pristine condition in my magazine shelf.

03.jpg

The exhibition was divided into 5 main sections. The Magazine Gila-Gila, Ujang, Gempak, Bekazon, the Animation and Creative work by the students of MMU. Each section was a spread of the best work from cartoonist by their era. What is interesting is the entire work is about Malaysian Cartoonist. To me, it was nothing less than mesmerizing. I get to learn and understand their technique in creation their masterpiece.

04.jpg

05.jpg

During those time, each dialogue was filled in manually, either pasted or directly written by pen. If a correction fluid is used, it can be seen from the drawing. The old technique are time consuming but the pieces was goes out of date. The use of marker pen and artline was so fine and detailed. The technique in using the watercolour was top notch. I felt so small compared to these greats in the exhibition hall. But I am motivated to improve on my pieces.

06.jpg

From Left : Aedes, Lambok & Nizam Bachok
Bottom Left: Ubi, Lengkuas, Kobis Bunga & Bawang.

07.jpg
To Left : Gayour, Bijan & Jering
Bottom Left : Keladi, Lepat, Sukun & Manggis

08.jpg
Coloured : Tan Eng Huat
Black and White: Zint & Fakhroul Anour

The works from the #steem-cartoon cartoonist are also exhibited. It actually made the entire exhibition even more lively. I am so proud to know them on this platform. Their work is excellent and there is no letdown.

09.jpg

Top Left : @sireh, @petai & @rambai
Bottom Left: Sagu, @pandan, @chendol & @afique

10.jpg
@abgmie

11.jpg
@aie

12.jpg

Apart from cartoons, there are also other exhibitions that includes the awards, costumes, animations, action figures that was also available for all to view.

13.jpg

At the foyer there was a mini stage, small booths selling souvenirs and artists autograph corner. I realised that many cartoonist are present. Some that I know of and some that I have no idea who they are. When I was watching @aie draw, @sireh showed up. After introducing myself I sat in front of the stage while observing them. It is like a small reunion for all cartoonist. They talked about their past and got to know the younger cartoonists. I am a bit saddened that I did not get the opportunity to take a picture with @sireh and his friend. It is an honour to be present in an event graced by all the cartoon greats.

14.jpg

I managed to obtain the autographs by 4 cartoonist that is renowned in this filed. They are @aedes, @aie, @ujang and Jaafar Taib.

15.jpg

Amongst the cartoonists present, I managed to take a photo with @aie.

I managed to have my artwork exhibited as well. Thanks to @sireh.

16.jpg
This drawing…is not mine.

17.jpg
This drawing is mine.

This has been a great 2017 to me. A bang for the end of 2017.

Happy New Year to you all.

on the 31st December, 2017 at 8.00 a.m. I woke up to the news of the demise of @sireh's beloved dad. My deepest condolences to him and his family. May you find strength in this moment of grief.


APP.png

Sort:  

Great article bro! ... I was looking for you when we had photo session together with Aie ... but you weren't around... there will always be a next time... please come again on 20 or 21st January... we are planning on something special...

Thanks bro..insya Allah. I'll try to come. :)

well said bro..happy new year!!

Thanks, bro. Let's work hard this year!! :)

Terbaik bro..Happy New Year..

Thank you, bro. Long live #steem-cartoon!! :)

This is an amazing post!! Glad this exhibition managed to bring forth so many great talents together such as you! :D

I plan to go again with my partner before it ends, lol. XD

Thank you @macam.yes. It is worthwhile to go back to the exhibtion. Maybe we'll meet there because I'm also planning to go back again. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 70771.68
ETH 3814.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.46