The Girl in the Rain

in #steem-cartoon6 years ago

cut 2.jpg

A.K.A my water color practice~

Sup guys!

Its been a while since I was last active...I had what one would say a writers block. I had zero inspiration and motivation...
I had ideas in my head. I came up with a lot of prompt, took pictures of stuff that looks drawable but.... when I did draw it out..it came out different than what I had in mind and grew to hate the stuff I drew...

But enough of that~

The reason I was inspired again was cause... I BOUGHT NEW WATERCOLORS THAT I'M DYING TO TRY!!!!

Three to be exact. Holbein artist's water color: Turquoise blue, Lavender and Opera.
And YES this is a big deal. As a person whose hometown doesn't have a decent art store, going to a proper art store that sells artist level goods is exciting.

Sure I can just buy them online....but that is no fun...I like the privilege of touching the stuff I'm gonna buy....yes....I am a shopaholic.... yes...I'm working on it....

Anywayss~ Onwards to the art process!!!

tools.jpg

The tools I used...are all experimental...and I am not even sure are appropriate for this... The paper I used is a post card paper that I got from muji...not really suitable for watercolor but eehhh..... the three watercolors, masking fluid that I bought ages ago but never use and.... the best pokemon, bidoof as decoration.

For this one, I wanted to draw something simple.

This idea came to me when I was playing sims 4 seasons.


In the game, my sim's house is always raining but fear not my sims have a dandy little umbrella with her all the time and a cute outfit to match. sooo rain = water = watercolor... it all comes together.

sketch.jpg

Next the sketchy part...simple enough. And I finally decided to use the washi tape that I have also been hoarding to make a border where I don't want watercolor to go. Next is the masking fluid.

masking fluid.jpg

I feel like I've done something wrong....
I am not sure what.... I applied the fluid using an old brush that I don't use anymore. It turned out clumpy and sticky and it was really hard to manage... It isn't smooth like the ones I saw on most youtube tutorials...

I put a second coat on it just in case.

Now for the fun part~

color.jpg

At first I used the wet on dry technique ( watercolor on dry paper for those who don't know) but it looks too clean and bold. So I changed to the more obvious choice, wet on wet. I made a line using clean water and just add in watercolor later and let the water do the work.

One thing I learned from using Muji's paper is that it absorb water fast. I had to use quite a lot of water just to make sure the colors looks flowy.

Moving on, the supposedly-fun-part-but-not-for-me-cause-I-know-I-messed-up-something part.

full color.jpg

Peeling the dried fluid off.

dang it.jpg

.....dang it.....

well nothing black ink can't hide...

AAaaaaaaAAAAnnnnnndddd I'm done ~

edit.jpg

The washi tape also ripped a bit of the paper off....And also I added glitter cause why not~

Well that's for now, See you next time

steem-cartoon.png
U5dsnWgSEds82AhRJBhemfrZKFyQLaq_1680x8400.png

Sort:  

Dang it, that lavender and turquoise look so goood and right after I ordered some paints from Stickerrific

DANG YOU NAWA

oh yeah stickerrific is having a watercolor sale this month

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.39
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70463.21
ETH 3549.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.87