My Charcoal Drawing: Fly Me to the Moon

in #steem-cartoon6 years ago (edited)

2018-02-17 14.36.00.jpg

Every man is a moon, and has a dark side which he never show to anybody - Mark Twain


The Calm Night


The moon floats in the dark every single night. It is mesmerising and enthralling. It is soothing. It gives calm and serenity. It is resolute. It is a moment that we wish time would freeze.

The moon is always a beacon of direction. It is nature's compass. It is the loyal companion to the fisherman in the open sea. Some culture believe in the mythical powers of the moon to be able to transform one being to another.

The dim glow that lights the world in an aerial display is something hauntingly beautiful.

I often think that the night is more alive and more richly colored than the day – Vincent Van Gogh


My Art


I want to capture the details of the moon. Craters and all, and this can be testing to the patience. A monochromatic landscape of the moon is a tricky subject. It's basically black, white and gray blended together and becomes a muted color.

Here I recorded the entire process in the form of a slideshow.

This is one subject that I have to use every technique that I have been taught and I have been practising to create the texture and shade, and the result was mesmerizing.


Material


Charcoal powder
Water colour brushes
Chinese brushes
Water colour paper
6b pencil
Eraser pen
Kneaded eraser


The process


20180215_150111.jpg

20180215_152515.jpg

20180215_164200.jpg

20180216_222828.jpg

20180217_005054.jpg

2018-02-18 13.05.57.jpg

I name this piece 'Lunar Surface' 2018
Size : 42 cm x 42 cm
Medium : Charcoal on paper

This is my image reference


Previous posts

https://steemit.com/steem-cartoon/@miorrizzuan/work-in-progress-shading-the-lunar-surface

https://steemit.com/steem-cartoon/@miorrizzuan/my-charcoal-drawing-anak-laut

cooltext274902041710487.gif

CEED753E-3A31-48D0-B82C-EDA79A017EDC.png

Sort:  

At first I thought you were drawing this with just white charcoal on black paper but after seeing photos and reading text you really surprised and impressed me! You are so good at this that this blows my mind!! And the end result looks so real! Now I'm searching for a paper and charcoal to try this by myself too. Thank you for sharing your 'Lunar Surface' piece! Really inspired me to draw this one too, thank you!

Your most welcome @msendija1. It's a wonderful feeling knowing when other get inspired by our work. Good luck on your charcoal drawing.

Fantastic @miorrizzuan... I am learning from your step by step. One day, I want to try it. Thanks. Mesti upvote punya... resteem lagi...

8BAF5BAA-1044-4BEA-9126-448904A95F10.gif

Thank you @abgmie. Much appreciated. Try jangan tak try. Kalau nak tips jangan segan nak tanya

I am a big fan of monochromatic work and love your piece Lunar Surface really works well with charcoal, inspiring work will follow and upvote

Thanks @wakesteveart for your kind comment. Much appreciated.

Wahhh dah macam gambarr

Dear Artist @miorrizzuan ! This post has been resteemed and upvoted from FineArtNow account ! See you soon !

saya sangat kagum dengan tahap pengamatan tuan 👍

Terima kasih tuan. Sekadar perkongsian sedikit bakat pinjaman Nya

karya tak pernah menghampakan..terbaekkk bang!

Terima kasih pandan yang suwit ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63968.82
ETH 3136.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.28