the Man-Eating Plant

in #steem-cartoon6 years ago

Greetings Steemians, today I'd like to show the steps to creating the Man-Eating plant that will appear in a future session on the tabletop!
mep10.jpg
For this monster, we begin with the starting sketch in Autodesk to get a feeling for the size and shape we're looking for.
mep1.jpg
After making a few adjustments, we're ready for line-work.
mep2.jpg
mep3.jpg
For the next step, I'll add some gray-scale to create a gradient effect when I lay down the colors.
mep4.jpg
Now for the color! As always, I lay down the base colors.
mep5.jpg
mep6.jpg
It's about here that something just wasn't "clicking", this monster was not menacing enough, so I went back and added larger, grasping vines and more "petals". Now this was better!
mep7.jpg
I also changed my mind about certain colors.
mep8.jpg
After adding some extra details, i used the airbrush tool on Autodesk Sketchbook and put some finishing touches on the vines.
mep9.jpg
After some "clean-up" with the eraser tool, the finished Man-Eating plant is almost ready for the table!
mep10.jpg
See you next time and don't forget to upvote, and as always, Keep Steemin!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64752.70
ETH 3455.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50