Steam-Cartoon Contest - Owl Nation

in #steem-cartoon7 years ago (edited)

70.jpg

Hey guys I’m back again with some new content! For today is about my entry for contest that organised by @perennial. You guys can check it out and enter the contest as well. This is the link to the contest:
https://steemit.com/steem-cartoon/@perennial/steem-cartoon-introducing-wo-owl-announcing-our-1-challenge

So I’m gonna explain a little bit about this contest so you guys have the idea what is going on. In this contest, participants need to apply theme ‘Fantasy’ in their artwork. No boundaries of the art style and we are free to choose. The participant must incorporate the steem-cartoon LOGO in the artwork.

Before that let me express my gratitude to Steam-cartoon community for create contest like this as it helps me to draw and force me to train back my drawing skill. Soon this is gonna be my new hobby and at the same time I can hone further my skill. Next, I am glad to have this community to support newbie like me.

The Ideation.

So at first I want to make a new character based on Steam-cartoon logo but I changed the plan into a group of masked owl. I want to portray the Steam-cartoon community as a group that help and support each other. So I use the head of the logo and use Persona 5 reference as a guide of team or as group.
r-01.jpg

The Process.

wp-01.jpg

So I start with rough sketch first to see as a whole artwork on how its looks like, does the composition looks good etc. Then I continue to make the fine line art.

Next I continue to start colouring. I am not confident to colour this and nearly ask my friend to do it for me but I came back to my sense and I do it myself so I can pretty confident about it. So I use bristle brush because I like the effects. I choose colour of Steem's logo colour which is turqouise and the colour near it, green and blue.

wp-02.jpg

2-01.jpg

For the background I dont plan on draw anything because I want to have some breathing area to let your eyes rest because of the crowded stroke at the foreground. So I paint light green and have lighter tone at the side of the character to highlight it more.

This is the whole process in GIF.
owl.gif

Thanks for reading this until the end and hope you guys like it. Thanks again for the Steam-cartoon community brings opportunity for student like me to improve and always supporting me. I will try to post more soon and farewell.

(btw I am sorry some of the pictures shown kinda have different colour I dont know why, I try to find solution for it)

Sort:  

Hoot..Hoot ( Cult approved! and nice I can see the movement in your drawing)

Hohohoo thanks for the approval and yea appreciate it!

The mask design looks slick! Loved the reference with the Persona art style.

(Oh btw, you missed an 's' in the steemitbloggers tag)

Demm u r a lifesaver! Thanks didnt notice that and appreciate your comment. XD

No problem ^^

Congratulations @joii! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got your First payout
You got a First Reply
Award for the number of upvotes
Award for the total payout received
Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67900.86
ETH 3250.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63