Steem-Cartoon: Redesigning Goliath

in #steem-cartoon7 years ago

8.jpg


A few days ago, @akmalbastamam made a post and in it, he showcased his original character which he called Goliath, one of the class for his ‘The Legion’ character series. This is how the character looks like:

(Artwork by @akmalbastamam)


This got my attention real quick xD I'm an armor lover myself!

The design was simple, yet intriguing. I finally decided that I want to do a fanart of it in my own style.

But before I can make even make a sketch of it, I do have to get my friend’s permission first.

As a fellow artist, I always try to take this procedure seriously, even though we are still friends/colleagues. Better safe than sorry!

(Of course, the procedure doesn’t have to be that serious… haha~)


Translation from Malay to English:

IZZIQBAL: “Wow, @akmalbastamam. May I do a fanart of this character of yours? It’s awesome!”

AKMALBASTAMAM: “Sure, why not. Thank you.”


To Make It Legit


After that’s clear, I quickly grab my sketchbook and made some idea sketch of how Goliath is going to look like in my style. At the same time, I tried my best to keep faithful to the original design and do it as similar as possible.

Other than the armor, the box-like helmet shape was definitely the most challenging part. It was challenging because I have to put a realistic factor in my design and if I would make the head a bit round, it won’t really looked like the original character anymore. The box-head was certainly the main characteristic of @akmalbastamam’s style choice and I don’t wanna lose that.

After 30 minutes of figuring out how to make this happen, I finally decided to give the head a square-shaped beret and it somehow worked out.

This is how it looked like:

Goliath_1.jpg

(I did the sketch using a blue pencil lead. Similar to a regular lead pencil, it can be erased easily too. You can buy this in any stationery shop and it also comes in different colours too like pink, orange, and violet.)

Giving It Some Details


The next process is going to be the pen line art process. In this process, the pen’s bold line functions to stand out the pencil's sketch line even more and I’m also going giving the sketch more detail with it. At this point, I can see clearly how the Goliath really looks like.

I also add a bit of colour using the blue pencil lead to differentiate the armor and the suit beneath it. This is going to help me a lot in the next process.

Goliath.jpg

It's Digital Time!


Aight, so we got the sketch done but we ain't finished just yet!

For the next step, I'm gonna do it digitally. I just need to take a picture of the sketch using my phone, transfer that image to my laptop and just retrace the picture again with Photoshop.

The colouring process comes next. I just took the original image’s colour pallets and use them to colour inside the line art that I did. That’s pretty much about it.

Goliath2.JPG

Clean Up & Touch Up


At this point, all I have to do is making sure everything looks neat and just right. I added some shade and lighting effects to give it some depths.

All it needs now is his riot shield and BAM! The Goliath is finally done :D

7_2.png

GIF Process


goliathgif.gif

Aight, I hope you guys liked it!

Again, I would like to thank @akmalbastamam. It's been a pleasure drawing his Goliath. If you are interested, he will be posting more Legion characters in the future, so keep an eye on it :D

Next post is going to be the second episode of My Sleepless Nights comic series. I was planning to create the comic as soon as I finished the Goliath but it seems it took longer expected. I apologized for delaying it but thank you for your patience!

That is all, thank you! I'll see ya guys in my next post. Ta-ta!


Steem-Cartoon Logo Designed by @cartoonistpandan
Wo-Owl Gif Animated by @zord189
Banner Created by @zomagic

Animated Banner Created by @zord189

Sort:  

very noice loving this character more. gud job to both of you XD

Congratulations @izziqbal! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes
Award for the total payout received
Award for the number of comments received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

I wonder how u made GIF ! Anyway Good work there

Thank you @yuanthinkchia!

I used Adobe Premiere Pro to do it ^^

Here are two easy steps on how to do it:

  1. Instead of videos, put pictures.

  2. When you are done with editing, just export it into [Animated Gif] format and VOILA, your gif complete :D

Congratulations @izziqbal! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Notifications have been disabled. Sorry if I bothered you.
To reactivate notifications, drop me a comment with the word NOTIFY

nice one bro~ Terbaik! hahaha

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59519.43
ETH 2458.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47