Using Introversion As An Excuse

in #steem-cartoon6 years ago (edited)

Have you ever had or been that person in a situation where you need to talk to someone new and immediately hear "I can't because I'm too much of an introvert!"? Then get the "non-introvert, confident" friend to do it instead?

01.png

Throughout my entire university experience, it's a situation I've seen countless times! Even out of university, this situation still happens where introversion is used as crutch to avoid social interaction with new people. This is especially so when you have a goal in mind when wanting something from talking with this person (ie. an assignment or client) and how you present yourself determines whether you get it or not.

Before I move on, this is not meant to talk down on people who have legitimate social anxiety where they cannot help but be absolutely terrified when it comes to social interactions and is physically incapable of doing so. The topic is directly towards people who are introverts or using the guise of introversion to exclude themselves purposely. Also, this is mainly my own opinions so there might be some bias.

The Main Problem

Nearly all industries and facets of life in the world require some form of social interaction with new people. Humans are social creatures so it's part of our nature to have social groups. So there's this fundamentally huge problem I see when introversion is used to avoid social interaction - introverts do have social groups.

02.png

And I have seen introverts be hyper and hollering friends they are familiar with (aka me and my friends). What I understand between the dynamics of introversion and extroversion, in the context of social interaction, is that introverts tend to be more comfortable within their own established social groups while extroverts are more comfortable finding new social groups to integrate with.

So why does the "I can't talk to this person because I'm too introverted" situation still happen? I think this is when introversion gets mixed up with shyness (more relative to confidence) and being antisocial (avoidance to social interaction). So while introverts do have tendencies of being shy and be a little antisocial (because everyone needs their alone time), it really doesn't help in the long run with forming professional relationships.

Reason for Me Writing This

Because I was that person who would ask my other friends to talk to people because I was too shy. Now looking back, that shyness and the excuses I made to justify it had probably made me miss out on so many opportunities in life.

I write this now for anybody that is like this because the change has to start from somewhere. I decided to make that change back in 2014 and it was the best decision I have ever made. Was it tough? Yeah, I fumbled but who doesn't? Changing habits is hard but possible.

Now that it is the beginning of the new year, I think it should be the beginning of the new you. Just depends on whether you commit to it or not.

In the words of my lecturer @azmanzulkiply, which is how I think I remember him saying it, "Just talk to each other!"

Anyways, that is it for now. This is a little different from how I usually write and I hope anyone reading this finds it either useful and enjoyable. And I want to know, were you an extrovert? An introvert? What changes are you doing to make yourself better this year? Tell me about it!

Hope you see you guys in my next post~

U5dtkYqckewxmNRfvjCFDQrVJU8Hwgi.gif

DQmQ599LwdiqJJw5oko4MK4PHcPJCZkvk8ScrW9ojcJfGX9.png

Sort:  

Very interesting! Speaking of introverted people I am supose to be one :P have you tried a temperament sorter? MBTI one is the most amazing one, you can check it here: https://www.16personalities.com I recommend you to take the test and tell your friends too, it is fun and helpfull n.n

Greetings!

Yup. I've done it before a few times. I always get INTP as my result so it must be true =D

Ooh! A rational! Pretty cool! I get INFJ everytime with many years of difference...so it must be true roo xD

Well, I don't know about the rational part xP
It's actually pretty interesting how we may feel we have changed a lot (a lot of people do) but still have the same core traits

The types are grouped in 4, NT are rational, NF are idealists, SJ are guardians and SP are artisans. Also NT and NF are the less common in the world ;)

Ooooh, we're special!

Hahahhahh yeah!!

Feels like I'm the mix of introvert and extrovert sometimes haha ∠( ᐛ 」∠)_

That's what you call an ambivert bro haha

I don't know what I am exactly but I'm sure I'm a potato

The tato-est of potatoes

I love your writing ...@hanbun ... it's relatable. That's why we always force u guys to present, discuss and communicate your ideas. Confidence comes with the acceptance of our own strength and weaknesses... and confidence is sexy ... hahaha! Good job in expressing your thought.

Haha thanks a lot, sir @sireh! I'm very grateful to all the presentations we had to go through in these past few years. And yes, confidence is one of the most attractive traits out there (only when it's backed up of course).

I am an introvert too but when the situation calls for it I can be an extrovert. Sometimes we need to push past our comfort level. No choice if have to "cari makan" :)

Exactly! The world won't cater to our comforts and preferences. We just gotta push ahead and do our best

thanks for sharing from your own personal experience. indeed 'shyness'/fear of being embarrassed has stunt the progress of too many. I also sometimes want to 'jaga muka' at the risk of establishing good networks. this has been a good read :)

Glad that you found it interesting, @calebleejl! I think this is something all of us have to work on in a national scale. Malaysians truly can go far in all industries I believe, they just need to put themselves out there. Soft skills are important after all =D

ahh. yes that's the word for it. soft skills! now that you mention it. this is deeply embedded in our culture. no wonder it's so hard to change when the environment doesn't really encourages it :/

Great comic hanbun. The great Carl Jung invented that test. What he meant by introversion wasn't that introverts were naturally anti-social, but that they expend energy when they are social and then need periods rests. Extroverts actually gain energy while being social. I would bet the majority of artists are introverts.

Thank you, @thunderbirdcomic. I understand that completely (being an introvert myself). Perhaps it's the semantics that somewhat irk me in this case xD

amazing ................................... nice working style
Please Upvote, Share, and Follow!! @noumanhafeez
THANKS SO MUCH!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64512.59
ETH 3174.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85