Steen-Cartoon Challenge #2 - Dancing Wo-ol NightsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #steem-cartoon7 years ago (edited)

Ahahaha...... a new challenge from @perennial!

https://steemit.com/steem-cartoon/@perennial/steem-cartoon-wo-owl-drawing-art-challenge-2-musical-retro-wo-owl

This time, the theme of the challenge is about retro music. Something related to old music from the past. But for us millennials, 1990's is already considered retro! Since retro is about vintages from 10-20 years, different generations might have different meaning of what retro is!

BUUUTTTTT.......

I did listen to old music from my dad's time. I'll give the story later...

Anyways, this is my submission....
07.jpg

Yeah..... your typical Saturday Night Fever LOL.....

Anyways, I start with the pose first. Of course, some references...

Usually there's a lot more references, although I end up drawing an original pose myself based on my references.
01.jpg

Next is the costume! This might look like a bizarre concept, but my person of reference was Elvis Presley, particularly his flamboyant clothing.

So, based on the reference, I designed my own costume. It's pretty much his suit plus some Steemit incorporation (upvote, resteem, and all that). And of course, the owl on the belt!
02.jpg

And yes, even my own stylized pompadour!

Inking, so that the details are more clearly shown.
03.jpg

Next is the colors. For that reference I choose one particular manga/anime with bizarre color palettes. You guessed it, it's JoJo's Bizarre Adventures.

In which the choice of colors itself was influenced by the paintings of Paul Gauguin.

And yes, JoJo itself is pretty old. It started in 1987, so it was out even before I was born! And I choose that particular color palette because it matched my idea of the old colorful days of neon colors of the old.

Anyways, base colors.
04.jpg

Details, very minimal.
05.jpg

Next is the background design.
dancingallnight.jpg

Next is to make some gnarly retro effects and composition and done!
07.jpg

Oh the story.

During my younger years, I was always stuck listening to my dad's old musics, so I ended up listening to songs from the likes of ABBA, Elvis Presley, Queen,.... you name it! We also like to listen to the mixes of old and new songs (for Malaysians, that radio station is MIX FM).

And JoJo is slaying it on introducing old references and pop culture. Part 4 using Savage Garden's "I Want You" in it's ending is especially nostalgic for a generation like me! :)

Anyways, Enjoy!

U5dsnWgSEds82AhRJBhemfrZKFyQLaq_1680x8400.png

DQmQk2LL9GuYjXRs1zo6k2fNCf899rTXqr8A2ZuQCrF8DU9.png
Credits to @zoomagic

Sort:  

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly – Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here

good post follow me my account @abdulmanna

I'm getting a Bee Gees vibe here! (╯✧▽✧)╯

Ah ah ah ah..... Stay ALIIiiiiivvvvEE!!! 😂9

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57135.10
ETH 2349.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39